By continuing, I agree to GINX' Terms and Conditions

Please enter a valide email address

Already a GINX member? Sign in


Your username is how other community members will see you. Ever dreamt of being called JohnWick ? Now is the time.

Genshin Impact
Guide > RPG > Genshin Impact

Genshin Impact Currency Guide: All types, how to get them, and what they are used for

You just started playing Genshin Impact and you have a lot of fun, but the currency system looks confusing and daunting? With this guide, you'll understand what each currency in the game does, and how can you obtain them.
Genshin Impact came out on the 28th September and in just a few short weeks has taken the gaming world by storm.

Million upon millions of players all around the world are playing the free-to-play action RPG title, which is available on PS4, Switch, Android, iOS and PC.

Genshin Impact currency guide
(Picture: miHoYo)

Chinese developer miHoYo created a fantastic open-world game for players to explore completely free, but if you want to unlock a bunch of cool new things to make your experience even more exciting, you will need to purchase wishes, the main monetization system in the game.

Wishes allow you to purchase new items and characters, and they function like a typical gacha system, you roll a "wish" and then see what you got.

Genshin Impact currently features 9 different currencies, from basic to exclusively premium. Most of them are in some way connected to the gacha system of Wishes, but not all of them.

In order to properly understand how this system works, you will need to know what each currency does, and how can you earn and spend them.

What is Mora and how to get it?

Genshin Impact Currency Guide
(Picture: miHoYo)

Mora is the most basic Genshin Impact currency, it is the equivalent of "money" in the game's world.

You can earn Mora by doing various activities while playing the game, just like "gold" in your typical RPG.

Some examples:

  • Complete quests.
  • Defeat enemies.
  • Clear dungeons.
  • Open chests and Ley Line Blossoms.

What can you spend Mora on?

  • Level up your characters.
  • Level up your weapons.
  • Level up your artefacts.
  • Purchase food and other items.
  • On weapons at the forge.

What are Wishes and how do you get them?

Wishes (Banners) are the gacha system in Genshin Impact. You can look at them as packs with rewards.

You can use a Standard Wish with Acquaint Fate and Event Wishes with Intertwined Fate.

Wishes allow you to unlock randomized characters and items of various Stars (levels).


What are Genesis Crystals and how can you obtain them?

how do you get Genesis Crystals
(Picture: miHoYo) 

Genesis Crystals is Genshin Impact's premium currency.

You can obtain them only by purchasing them with real-world money.

You can buy them either bundled with Primogems or in separate bundles.

The first time you buy Genesis Crystals you will get double the amount as a reward.

Genesis Crystals have no other purpose but to spend them on Primogems, where 1 Genesis Crystals equal 1 Primogem.

These are the current Genesis Crystals bundle prices in USD:

  • $0.99 - 60 Genesis Crystals
  • $4.99 - 300 Genesis Crystals
  • $14.99 - 980 Genesis Crystals
  • $29.99 - 1980 Genesis Crystals
  • $49.99 - 3280 Genesis Crystals
  • $99.99 - 6480 Genesis Crystals

The $29.99 bundle offers the best value per Crystals, albeit very small (0.1c savings per crystal).

What are Primogems and how do you get them?

Genshin Impact Currency primogems
(Picture: miHoYo) 

Primogem is probably the single most important currency in the game.

Their main purpose is to purchase Fates (Wishing Currency) or to level up your Battle Pass.

You can buy Acquaint and Intertwined Fates for 160 Primogems per Fate, or purchase a Battle Pass level up for 150 Primogems.

Primogem is both a premium and a quest reward currency, which means that you can obtain them either with real money or by playing the game and completing quests.

How to earn Primogems

  • Convert Genesis Crystals into Primogems(1:1 value). 
  • Buy Primogems Premium Bundles with real money.
  • Complete Daily Quests.
  • Progress through Battle Pass.
  • Unlock Achievements.
  • Through completing the Spiral Abyss.

What are Acquaint and Intertwined Fates

and how do you get them?

Genshin Impact Currency Guide Acquaint and Intertwined Fates
(Picture: miHoYo) 

The Acquaint and Intertwined Fates are wishing currencies, which means that you use them to pull draws from the wish table (gacha mechanic).

Acquaint Fate can be used for Standard Wishes and Beginners' Wishes, while Intertwined Fate can be used for Limited/Event Wishes.

You can earn Acquaint and Intertwined Fates in two ways:

  • Use Primogems to purchase them.
  • Through Adventure Rank Rewards.
  • Certain Battle Pass levels.

What is Stardust and how can you obtain it?

Genshin Impact Currency stardust
(Picture: miHoYo) 

Stardust is acquired by making wishes. If you roll a 4-Star reward, you'll earn Stardust.

Stardust is a currency used to purchase rare resources from the shop (Paimon's Bargains).

Some items have a monthly limit to prevent farming, while some are locked behind a certain Adventure Rank.

How to spend Stardust?

  • Purchase up to 5 Acquaint or Intertwined Fates per month.
  • Purchase weapon materials.
  • Purchase Mora.

What is Starglitter and how to get it?

Genshin Impact how to get star glitter
(Picture: miHoYo) 

Like Stardust, Starglitter is also acquired by making wishes, but it has a higher value, and therefore it is harder to get.

You earn Starglitter if the rewards you got from Wishes were 5-Star rolls (the highest rarity).

How to spend Starglitter?

The Starglitter currency is used to trade for Fate currency.

Every 5 Starglitter you have can be changed for a Fate.

Unlike Stardust, here there is no limit to how many Fate you can buy since Starglitter is a much rarer currency, which you only earn with 5-Star rolls.

Besides Fate, you can spend Starglitter on characters, weapons, and materials of a higher rarity.

Only 4-Star items are offered when purchasing with Starglitter, and half of the shop is limited to having an Adventure Rank of 35.

Characters can be purchased over a limited time, after which they disappear from the shop, and different characters will be randomly available from time to time for purchase.


Regional Genshin Impact Currency

There are currently only two regional currencies in the game since only two regions are available.

They are recognizable by the sigil of the element of the Seven of that region.

What is Anemo Sigil and how do you get it?

Genshin Impact Currency Anemo Sigil
(Picture: miHoYo) 

A currency that is unique to the Mondstadt area.

How to get Anemo Sigil:

  • You can find them in chests of Mondstadt area.
  • By increasing the rank of the Anemo Statues of the Seven.

How to spend Anemo Sigil:

  • Buy Ascension materials.
  • Buy Weapon Ascension materials.
  • On Talent rank up equipment.
  • Purchase Mora.

What is Geo Sigil and how do you get it?

What is Geo Sigil and how do you get it?
(Picture: miHoYo) 

A currency that is unique to the Liyue area.

How to get Geo Sigil:

  • You can find them in chests of Mondstadt area.
  • By increasing the rank of the Anemo Statues of the Seven.

How to spend Geo Sigil:

  • Buy Ascension materials.
  • Buy Weapon Ascension materials.
  • On Talent rank up equipment.
  • Purchase Mora.


Enjoy this guide? Follow our dedicated Genshin Impact Twitter account for all the latest information, news, leaks and more from everyone's favourite gacha game.