Video Games
News > FPS > Video Games

Rocket Arena: Modes, maps, heroes, how to access and what it is

Everything you need to know about the explosive new FPS title Rocket Arena.
Rocket Arena: Modes, maps, heroes, how to access and what it is

If you love dodging and shooting rockets at enemies and spent way too much time playing Quake III Arena, then you will simply adore Rocket Arena. This new FPS title is as explosive as it is fun to play. Here's everything you need to know, including what Rocket Arena is, how to gain access to it, maps, modes, and heroes.


What is Rocket Arena?

Rocket Arena is a 3v3 shooter set in a world where everyone uses rocket launchers. It is action-packed, fast-paced, and perfect for those who get hyped from blasting someone with a rocket while in mid-air. 

The game features four modes (more on this later), as well as 10 heroes at launch, all with unique abilities which help them blow their foes to smithereens. There are also 10 diverse maps for players to compete in (both in social and competitive play), all set in a place called "Crater".



In short, it is a relatively simple idea of fighting with rocket launchers, taken to the next level with a tonne of diverse aspects, including the ability to unlock artifacts to boost your character's with new stats and effects.

The game also supports cross-play, so you can blast your friends in the face with rockets even if they are playing on a different platform.


How to access Rocket Arena

Rocket Arena is out now on PC, PS4 and Xbox One. Unlike many new shooters these days, it isn't free, unfortunately. The only way to gain access to Rocket Arena is to purchase it from the digital store on your gaming platform of choice.

Gain access to Rocket Arena by purchasing it via the following links:

To gain access to Rocket Arena, you will need to open your wallet and throw $29.99 (£24.99) at Electronic Arts. If you have EA Access, then you will get a 10% discount on your purchase.



Rocket Arena game modes

Players can choose to enjoy themselves without stress in Social Unranked or face the challenge of Competitive Play. In both Social and Unranked, you have access to all four game modes.

There are tutorial, practice, and custom modes for Rocket Arena, as well as a cooperative mode, which players team up to face off against RocketBots. You will have to try to knock out all the RocketBots before the time limit runs out in this cooperative mode.


Rocket Arena game modes maps heroes
RocketBots are coming for you (Picture: Electronic Arts)


Further, you have the 3v3 competitive modes to enjoy, because shooting other players in the face with rockets is what this game is really all about.


Knockout is a competitive mode, the objective is to use rockets, abilities, and items to blast your opponents out of the arena. Teams score “Knockouts" by forcing opponents out of the arena. The team that reaches the score target first wins the match.

Treasure Hunt:

In Treasure Hunt, there are two ways to score points:

  • Hold the treasure chest – pick up the chest and hold it to earn points. Earn bonus points for earning the final coin from each chest that spawns.
  • Pickup Coins – In the coin round, dozens of coins spawn around the map – pick them up to score.


Rocket Arena modes maps what it is how to access
Somebody's doing well in the coin round! (Picture: Electronic Arts)



Two teams compete to pick up the Rocketball and score it into the opposing team’s goal. You may score by either running, throwing, or blasting the Rocketball into the opposing team’s goal. The team with the most points at the end of the timer, or the team to reach the point cap first wins the match.



Mega Rocket:

In Mega Rocket, a large rocket flies into the arena, blasting players out of the way when it lands. Upon landing, a capture zone appears. The goal of Mega Rocket is to defend and capture the zone to score. The team that captures the most rockets at the end of the timer, or reaches the point cap wins the match.

Rocket Arena maps modes how to access
The mega-rocket doing massive damage in the top right (Picture: Electronic Arts)


Rocket Arena maps

There are a total of 10 diverse maps at launch for Rocket Arena. These maps are all filled with traps, tricks, and hidden lore pertaining to the world of Crater for players to find.


Rocket Arena maps modes heroes
The Stompy's Refuge map (Picture: Electronic Arts)


From a snowy keep to a rocket boat, a dinosaur skeleton and more, these maps ooze personality. Check out a list of the Rocket Arena maps below.

  • Apogee Acres
  • Frostwind Grove
  • The Golden Zephyr
  • Hypersonic Heights
  • Icefall Keep
  • Megadon Junction
  • Shimmering Depths
  • Star of Crater
  • Stompy’s Refuge
  • Temples of Jaaqua

With unique themes in each of the 10 Rocket Arena maps, there's a lot to look forward to. These maps are not only worth exploring, but offer some mystery, lore, and a whole lot of bright, cartoonish graphics.



Rocket Arena heroes

There are a total of 10 Rocket Arena heroes at launch, with more coming in each season, free to those who own the game. Each of the Rocket Arena heroes is unique, with their own sparkling personalities.

All the Rocket Arena heroes have unique abilities, namely a primary fire, secondary fire, and special ability. Their primary fire (a rocket) has unique characteristics, for example, some rockets travel slowly, but do huge amounts of damage.


Jayto is one of Rocket Arena's diverse heroes (Picture: Electronic Arts)


The list of Rocket Arena heroes:

  • Amphora
  • Blastbeard
  • Jayto
  • Boone
  • Izell
  • Kayi
  • Mysteen
  • Plink
  • Rev
  • Topnotch

Check out the video below introducing you to all the Rocket Arena heroes at launch.