GINX TV > Guides & Tutorial > Baldur's Gate III

Baldur's Gate 3: Proficiency Bonus Explained

There are a few terms and bonuses you have to understand in Baldur's Gate 3.
Baldur's Gate 3: Proficiency Bonus Explained

Dungeons & Dragons is a game known for being overly complex at points. It's a game with a lot of math, a lot of calculation, and a lot of different rules. Yet since Fifth Edition was released for the popular TTRPG, everything has been simplified so that even the most easily confused of individuals can understand exactly what's going on, and Baldur's Gate 3 takes this and runs with it for things such as Proficiency bonuses.

What Is Proficiency In Baldur's Gate 3?

Proficiency Bonus is a calculation based on your aptitude with a certain ability, item, skill or weapon. Depending on your race or your class this could be a whole range of different things, but these are what is actually affected by Proficiency:

  • Spell Attack Rolls
  • Weapon Attack Rolls
  • Saving Throws
  • Saving Throw DCs
  • Skill Checks

Your regular Proficiency Bonus is a +2 until you hit level 4, and otherwise, your Proficiency Bonus looks as follows:

  • Level 1-4: +2
  • Level 5-8: +3
  • Level 9-12: +4

You can choose to make yourself Proficient in various different items and skills over the course of the game, but make sure you're playing to your strengths. You don't want to be proficient in something you barely use. Don't become proficient in Bows if you only use Melee weapons.