Call of Duty
News > FPS > Call of Duty

Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War PS4 Alpha: Start date, file size, end date, and more

PlayStation 4 owners will be able to get their hands on the multiplayer portion of Black Ops Cold War almost a month before players on the other platforms. Here's everything you need to know.
Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War PS4 Alpha: Start date, file size, end date, and more

During the PlayStation 5 showcase this evening, among other things we got a chance to see a Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War trailer for PS5.

We saw a portion of  "Nowhere Left to Run", the first campaign mission in Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War.

But for the impatient players, much more exciting information was shared - Activision and PlayStation announced that PlayStation 4 players will get a chance to try Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War multiplayer this Friday!

The exclusive PlayStation 4 Alpha weekend features multiple modes, maps, and a preview of the Create-a-Class and Scorestreak systems.

cold_war_alpha
Picture: Treyarch Studios

 

When does Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War PS4 Alpha start?

If you are a PlayStation 4 owner, you will get a chance to play Black Ops Cold War this weekend!

It will be available to anyone on PS4 regardless of pre-ordering the game, and you don't even need to have PlayStation+ subscription.

Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War Alpha starts on Friday, 18th September, at 10 am PDT/ 13 pm EDT/ 7 pm CET

 

When does Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War PS4 Alpha end?

You will have three full days of playtesting before the open Alpha ends on Sunday, 20th September, at 10 am PDT/ 13 pm  EDT/ 7 pm CET.

cold_war_alpha_2
Picture: Sony/Treyarch Studios

 

How big is Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War PS4 Alpha file?

It is a 25GB file, and you can start pre-loading it on Thursday, 17 September, at 8 am PDT/ 11 am EDT/ 5 pm CET.

 

Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War Alpha for Xbox and PC?

Unfortunately, this Alpha weekend is exclusive to PS4 owners.

Xbox and PC players will be able to participate in the game's Open Beta in a month from now. 

The Beta starts on 15th October in early access for preorders, and on 17th October as an Open Beta, ending on October 19.

However, there is another way to get a code for any platform and that is through a secret drop that Treyarch are doing on their Discord, for more information hop on to our explainer.


For more Call of Duty news, be sure to check out our dedicated section or some of our MW2 Guides & Tutorials below:

Modern Warfare 2 Guides - Jack Links Skin Unlock All Operators Check Server Status Get Twitch Drops Post-Credit Scene Explained Unlock Gold Camo Get Burger Town Operator MGB Nuke Unlock Every Weapon All KillstreaksSafe Code Locations|Check KD Ratio|XP Farm Trick|Chopper Gun Glitch|Weapon Tuning|Change Name Color|Hardcore Tier 1 ModeTurn Off Crossplay|Steam Deck| Raid: Atomgrad | How To Play "Support A Team" | Unlock Orion Camo | Aim Assist Settings

Modern Warfare 2 Fixes & Issues-Best NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Dev Error 6036 MW2 Missing Items Unlimited Tactical Sprint Bug Stuck On Installing Bug Display Name Not Allowed Bug|Gold Camo Not Unlocking|Voice Chat Not Working| Display FPS Counter

Best Modern Warfare 2 Loadouts -  Best Weapon Tier List M4 LoadoutPDSW 528 Loadout|TAQ-V Loadout|M4 Loadout|Fennec 45| No Recoil M4 Loadout | SA-B 50 Loadout | Kastov-74U Loadout