Welcome back!

Sign in or create an account to enjoy GINX perks, enter competitions and access exclusive features.

Manage your account

GINX TV > News > CS:GO

CS:GO B Site league unveiled as FLASHPOINT: Format and rules explained

FACEIT has officially unveiled their new CS:GO league Flashpoint, which is controlled and funded by teams who participate.
CS:GO B Site league unveiled as FLASHPOINT: Format and rules explained
  • FLASHPOINT is the first team-owned CS:GO league
  • Big names from the CS:GO scene have already signed up as casters
  • Flashpoint open qualifiers start today, with the league kicking off next month

Previously known as B Site, FACEIT has pulled the curtain back on their new team-owned league titled Flashpoint – detailing the rules and format of the inaugural season.  

Announced on 5 February, Flashpoint is described not as a league but a “tournament series” which ends with a double-elimination bracket.  

Flashpoint will see 12 teams compete in total; consisting of 10 partnered teams along with two teams who qualify from open qualifiers.  

The series is broken down into two phases. The first phase sees the twelve teams split into three groups of four. After the top three seeds are randomly placed into a group, the captain of the respective teams will pick an opponent for their group.  

From those selected, they will then decide who fills out the remaining slots of their respective group. The team selected last, as they didn’t have the choice to pick their opponent, can then choose to swap placements within or across groups.  

The top seeded teams first selected, however, can veto any potential swaps under certain criteria. You can check out more information on swaps here. 

Each group will play a double-elimination style format, with those results deciding how the groups will be formed for the next phase.  

From the final standings of each phase, teams will receive playoff points which are cumulative and determine who enters the playoffs. The top eight teams qualify for playoffs, where all matches are in a best-of-three format.  

Flashpoint CS:GO format

The key difference of Flashpoint is the fact it’s owned and run by the teams who participate, with organisations like Cloud9, Gen.G, Dignitas and Overactive Media contributing in a bid to create a more sustainable league.  

Flashpoint will have two season per year with a $2 million prize pool. It will also feature some huge names as casters, like Duncan “Thorin” Shields, Christopher “Montecristo” Mykles and Auguste “Semmler” Massonnat. You can check out the full talent roster below.  

Open qualifiers for Flashpoint start on 6th February, with the league starting in March 2020.