Fortnite
Guides & Tutorial > Battle Royale > Fortnite

Fortnite Servers Not Responding - When Will Servers Come Back Up?

Are the Fortnite servers not responding for you? Here's when you can expect servers to come back online.
Fortnite Servers Not Responding - When Will Servers Come Back Up?

Epic Games are gearing up for yet another Fortnite patch update. This time, the developers are releasing another major content update for Fortnite Chapter 4 Season 1. But before the new patch goes live in-game, players will notice that the game servers will become unresponsive.

As a result, you might ask yourself, "Why are the Fortnite servers not responding." If you're among the many players currently wondering what's going on, don't worry. We've got you covered.

Update: The next server downtime should be Tuesday, 24 January 2023. We will monitor and report on any updates from the developers.

When Will Fortnite Servers Come Back Online?

The Fortnite servers will experience downtime (with matchmaking becoming disabled), presumably to make way for the next minor Fortnite patch update on 24 January 2023. There's no telling exactly how long Fortnite servers will remain offline; however, you can expect servers to come back online a few hours later that same day.

Matchmaking is typically disabled for up to about 4 hours, which means the Fortnite servers should be restored by 5 a.m. PT | 8 a.m. ET | 13 a.m. GMT at the latest. Epic Games typically releases minor updates every Tuesday at 1 a.m. PT | 4 a.m. ET | 9 a.m. GMT (not including major patches or content releases). We will update this article weekly with any new information.

Past Server Outages / Fortnite Downtime

23 January 2023: No updates about Fortnite Server Downtime.

There is no information about any potential server downtime. We will amend this post if any new updates are announced. 

18 January 2023: Fortnite v23.20 update rollout

The Fortnite servers were down to make way for the v23.20 update.

10 January 2023: Minor Maintenence

The Fortnite servers were down briefly "to deploy a patch addressing several issues, including bouncing with the Shockwave Hammer more often than intended." Server functionality has since been restored.

Fortnite servers down how to check server status maintenance schedule planned unplanned network issues connection PC playstation xbox nintendo mobile
Fortnite servers will not be accessible during the new season's rollout. (Picture: Epic Games)

As a result of the scheduled maintenance, Fortnite players will not be able to log in to the game, access game services or matchmaking, parties, friends and messaging services, voice chat, stats and leaderboards, the Fortnite Item Shop, or Fortnite Crew.

Only the Fortnite website will be operational during this period. Notably, all other Epic Games services should remain active, including the Epic Games Store, Rocket League, Sideswipe, and others. Once Epic Games has integrated the new Fortnite game patch, the servers will return to normal and become available for play. You can check the official Epic Games server status or the Fortnite Twitter page for updates.

If you're still struggling to log in or access the Fortnite game services, it is always a good rule of thumb to connect your PC or console directly to your router via a LAN cable, as Wi-Fi can, in some cases, be prone to network issues.

That's everything we know at this time. We advise players to remain patient, as it won't be long until the servers are returned online.


For more Fortnite news be sure to check out our dedicated section, or some of our Guides & Tutorials, just below:

Fortnite Guides - All Fortnite Redeem Codes | When Does Fortnite Chapter 3 Season 5 Start?|All Fortnite Twitch Drop Rewards| How To Make Your Own Fortnite Skin |

Fortnite Events - Fortnite Winterfest 2022

The Best Fortnite Creative Codes - Best Edit Course Codes|Best Prop Hunt Codes|Best Zombie Map Codes

Featured image courtesy of Epic Games.