EA FC 24 Guides
News > MOBA > League of Legends

Here are the groups for League of Legends Worlds 2020

The groups and play-ins have been revealed for this year’s League of Legends World Championship, ahead of its kick off later this month.
Here are the groups for League of Legends Worlds 2020

The 2020 League of Legends World Championship is set to start on 25th September in Shanghai, and now we know which teams will face-off in the early stages. 

The group and play-in stage draws were announced on Tuesday 15th September, with the latter set to feature only 10 teams this year, instead of the usual 12, after Vietnamese teams were excluded from the event over COVID-19 travel restrictions. 

The play-in stage will be split into two groups of five teams, where each team will play a single round-robin cycle. The first place teams will qualify for the Groups stage, while the fifth is eliminated. 

How the play-ins will work (Picture:lolesports) 

The third and fourth place teams in each group will play in a best-of-five series, with the winner playing the second place team in the opposing group. The winner of those matches will then advance to the Group stage.

The third seed from the LCK has also been advanced to the Groups stage automatically to make the teams even in play-ins. 

Play-in stage

Ten teams compete in the play-in stage, consisting of the fourth seed from China’s LPL and Europe’s LEC, the third seed from North America’s LCS, the second seed from Taiwan, Hong Kong and South East Asia’s PCS, and the first seeds from Brazil’s CBLOL, Japan’s LJL, Latin America’s LLA, CIS’ LCL, Oceania’s OPL and Turkey’s TCL. 

The play-in groups (Picture: lolesports)

Group A

  • Team Liquid (LCS)
  • MAD Lions (LEC)
  • Legacy Esports (OPL)
  • Papara SuperMassive (TCL)
  • INTZ Esports (CBLOL)

Group B

  • LGD Gaming (LPL)
  • PSG Talon (PCS)
  • V3 Esports (LJL)
  • Unicorns of Love (LCL)
  • Rainbow7 (LLA)

Group stage

16 teams compete in the groups stage, consisting of 12 which qualified and four advancing from the play-in stage. You can check out the teams below. 

The groups (Picture: lolesports) 

Group A

  • G2 Esports (LEC)
  • Machi Esports (PCS)
  • Suning (LPL)
  • TBD

Group B

  • JD Gaming (LPL)
  • Damwon Gaming (LCK)
  • Rogue (LEC)
  • TBD

Group C

  • Team SoloMid (LCS)
  • Fnatic (LEC)
  • Gen.G (LCK)
  • TBD

Group D

  • Top Esports (LPL)
  • FlyQuest (LCS)
  • DragonX (LCK)
  • TBD

The play-ins for the League of Legends World Championship 2020 start on 25th September, while the group stage kicks off on 3rd October.