×
OR

By continuing, I agree to GINX' Terms and Conditions

OR
Please enter a valide email address

Already a GINX member? Sign in

CHOOSE YOUR USERNAME
›

Your username is how other community members will see you. Ever dreamt of being called JohnWick ? Now is the time.

Back
League of Legends
News > MOBA > League of Legends
World

League of Legends Worlds 2020: Schedule, groups and how to watch

The League of Legends World Championship kicks off this week with the Play-in stage, so here’s what you need to know about the qualified teams and groups.
The 2020 League of Legend World Championship starts on 25th September in Shanghai, starting what’s become one of the biggest events in esports. 

This year’s event faces numerous changes however, with the exclusion of Vietnamese teams due to COVID-19 leading to some shifts around in the early stages. 

So what is going on with Worlds 2020? Here’s the lowdown on what to expect. 

When does Worlds 2020 start and what is the format?

 

Worlds 2020 officially kicks off on Friday 25th September with the Play-ins group stage, with the knockout stage scheduled for 29-30th September. 

This is followed by the group stage on 3-11th October, and the group knockout stage on 15-31st October.

For the opening Play-in stage, two teams are divided into two groups to play best-of-one matches - with the top team in each group advancing to the group stage. 

The third and fourth place teams in each group will play in a best-of-five series, with the winner playing the second place team in the opposing group. The winner of those matches will then advance to the Group stage.

Which teams have qualified for Play-ins? 

worlds_2020_play-ins_graphic
How Play-ins will work (Picture: Riot)

Group A

  • Team Liquid (LCS)
  • MAD Lions (LEC)
  • Legacy Esports (OPL)
  • Papara SuperMassive (TCL)
  • INTZ Esports (CBLOL)

Group B

  • LGD Gaming (LPL)
  • PSG Talon (PCS)
  • V3 Esports (LJL)
  • Unicorns of Love (LCL)
  • Rainbow7 (LLA)

What is the schedule for the Play-In stage?

Friday 25th September

  • MAD Lions vs INTZ - 9am BST/1am PT
  • PSG Talon vs Rainbow7 - 10am BST/2am PT
  • Legacy Esports vs INTZ - 11am BST/3am PT
  • LGD Gaming vs PSG Talon - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • Team Liquid vs MAD Lions - 1pm BST/5am PT

Saturday 26th September

  • Rainbow7 vs V3 Esports - 9am BST/1am PT
  • INTZ vs Papara SuperMassive - 10am BST/2am PT
  • V3 Esports vs Unicorns of Love - 11am BST/3am PT
  • LGD Gaming vs Rainbow7 - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • Unicorns of Love vs PSG Talon - 1pm BST/5am PT
  • Papara SuperMassive vs MAD Lions - 2pm BST/6am PT
  • Team Liquid vs Legacy Esports - 3pm BST/7am PT

Sunday 27th September

  • V3 Esports vs LGD Gaming - 9am BST/1am PT
  • Rainbow7 vs Unicorns of Love - 10am BST/2am PT
  • PSG Talon vs V3 Esports - 11am BST/3am PT
  • Unicorns of Love vs LGD Gaming - 12pm BST/4am PT

Monday 28th September

  • Papara SuperMassive vs Team Liquid - 9am BST/1am PT
  • MAD Lions vs Legacy Esports - 10am BST/2am PT
  • INTZ vs Team Liquid - 11am BST/3am PT
  • Legacy Esports - Papara SuperMassive - 12pm BST/4am PT

Tuesday 29th September

  • TBD vs TBD - 7am BST/11pm PT
  • TBD vs TBD - 11am BST/3am PT

Wednesday 30th September

  • TBD vs TBD - 7am BST/11pm PT
  • TBD vs TBD - 11am BST/3am PT
 

Which teams have qualified for the Group stage?

worlds_2020_groups_main_new
The groups for Worlds 2020 (Picture: Riot) 

Group A

  • G2 Esports (LEC)
  • Machi Esports (PCS)
  • Suning (LPL)
  • Team Liquid

Group B

  • JD Gaming (LPL)
  • Damwon Gaming (LCK)
  • Rogue (LEC)
  • PSG Talon

Group C

  • Team SoloMid (LCS)
  • Fnatic (LEC)
  • Gen.G (LCK)
  • LGD Gaming

Group D

  • Top Esports (LPL)
  • FlyQuest (LCS)
  • DragonX (LCK)
  • Unicorns of Love

What is the schedule for the Group stage?

Saturday 3rd October

  • FlyQuest vs Top Esports - 9am BST/1am PT
  • DragonX vs Unicorns of Love - 10am BST/2am PT
  • Rogue vs PSG Talon - 11am BST/3am PT
  • DAMWON Gaming vs JD Gaming - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • Gen.G vs LGD Gaming - 1pm BST/5am PT
  • TSM vs Fnatic - 2pm BST/6am PT

Sunday 4th October

  • Machi Esports vs Team Liquid - 9am BST/1am PT
  • G2 Esports vs Suning - 10am BST/2am PT
  • Rogue vs DAMWON Gaming - 11am BST/3am PT
  • JD Gaming vs PSG Talon - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • Gen. G vs TSM - 1pm BST/5am PT
  • Fnatic vs LGD Gaming - 2pm BST/6am PT

Monday 5th October

  • Machi Esports vs G2 Esports - 9am BST/1am PT
  • Suning vs Team Liquid - 10am BST/2am PT
  • DAMWON Gaming vs PSG Talon - 11am BST/3am PT
  • JD Gaming vs Rogue - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • FlyQuest vs Unicorns of Love - 1pm BST/5am PT
  • Top Esports vs DragonX - 2pm BST/6am PT

Tuesday 6th October

  • G2 Esports vs Team Liquid - 9am BST/1am PT
  • Suning vs Machi Esports - 10am BST/2am PT
  • DragonX vs FlyQuest - 11am BST/3am PT
  • Top Esports vs Unicorns of Love - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • Fnatic vs Gen.G - 1pm BST/5am PT
  • TSM vs LGD Gaming - 2pm BST/6am PT

Thursday 8th October

  • G2 Esports vs Team Liquid - 9am BST/1am PT
  • Machi Esports vs Suning - 10am BST/2am PT
  • G2 Esports vs Machi Esports - 11am BST/3am PT
  • Suning vs Team Liquid - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • Machi Esports vs Team Liquid - 1pm BST/5am PT
  • Suning vs G2 Esports - 2pm BST/6am PT

Friday 9th October

  • DAMWON Gaming vs PSG Talon - 9am BST/1am PT
  • Rogue vs JD Gaming - 10am BST/2am PT
  • DAMWON Gaming vs Rogue - 11am BST/3am PT
  • JD Gaming vs PSG Talon - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • Rogue vs PSG Talon - 1pm BST/5am PT
  • JD Gaming vs DAMWON Gaming - 2pm BST/6am PT

Saturday 10th October

  • Fnatic vs TSM - 9am BST/1am PT
  • Gen.G vs LGD Gaming - 10am BST/2am PT
  • TSM vs Gen.G - 11am BST/3am PT
  • Fnatic vs LGD Gaming - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • TSM vs LGD Gaming - 1pm BST/5am PT
  • Gen.G vs Fnatic - 2pm BST/6am PT

Sunday 11th October

  • FlyQuest vs Dragon X - 9am BST/1am PT
  • Top Esports vs Unicorns of Love - 10am BST/2am PT
  • DragonX vs Unicorns of Love - 11am BST/3am PT
  • Top Esports vs FlyQuest - 12pm BST/4am PT
  • FlyQuest vs Unicorns of Love - 1pm BST/5am PT
  • DragonX vs Top Esports - 2pm BST/6am PT

When do the Playoffs take place?

The playoff quarter-finals span from 15-18th October, with the semi-finals taking place on 24-25th October. 

The grand finals of the whole event will be held on 31st October. 

How can I watch League of Legends Worlds 2020?

You can watch all the action on the official lolesports Twitch channel, YouTube and on their official website.