Magic the Gathering
EA FC24 Guides
Guides & Tutorial > Card Game > Magic the Gathering

Magic The Gathering: Commander Banlist

There are certain Magic The Gathering cards that you're unable to play in Commander Format.
Magic The Gathering: Commander Banlist

In any long-running Trading Card Game,  problem cards tend to turn up. Infamously, Yu-Gi-Oh has a massive list of cards that you can either only play a certain amount of or cards that you can't play in your deck at all. This happens due to power creep (cards incrementally getting better and better over time) and new releases causing interactions with cards that previously weren't expected by the designers. 

Magic The Gathering is no different to this phenomenon in the TCG space, and each format has its own ban list. Even Commander, a fairly new format in the grand scheme of things, isn't immune to this and features its own list of cards that you can't play in the format, and that's what we're here for today. We've got the full list of banned cards from Magic The Gathering's Commander Format which will be updated quarterly. 

Magic The Gathering Commander Format Banlist

  • Ancestral Recall
  • Balance
  • Biorhythm
  • Black Lotus
  • Braids, Cabal Minion
  • Channel
  • Chaos Orb
  • Coalition Victory
  • Emrakul, the Aeons Torn
  • Erayo, Soratami Ascendant
  • Falling Star
  • Fastbond
  • Flash
  • Gifts Ungiven
  • Golos, Tireless Pilgrim
  • Griselbrand
  • Hullbreacher
  • Iona, Shield of Emeria
  • Karakas
  • Leovold, Emissary of Trest
  • Library of Alexandria
  • Limited Resources 
  • Lutri, The Spellchaser
  • Mox Emerald
  • Mox Jet
  • Mox Pearl
  • Mox Ruby
  • Mox Sapphire
  • Panoptic Engine
  • Primeval Titan
  • Prophet of Kruphix
  • Recurring Nightmare
  • Rofellos, Llanowar Emissary
  • Sharazad
  • Sway of the Stars
  • Sundering Titan
  • Sylvan Primordial
  • Time Vault
  • Time Walk
  • Tinker
  • Tolarian Academy
  • Trade Secrets
  • Upheaval
  • Yawgmoth's Bargain