Welcome back!

Sign in or create an account to enjoy GINX perks, enter competitions and access exclusive features.

GINX TV > News > Pokémon

Shadowcat wins Pokémon Players Cup for Pokkén Tournament DX with perfect finish

In a closely-fought final, Shadowcat managed to take top prize in the Pokkén Tournament DX event for the Pokémon Players Cup.
Shadowcat wins Pokémon Players Cup for Pokkén Tournament DX with perfect finish

Following numerous wins this year, Davon “Shadowcat” Amos-Hall asserted his dominance as one of the best Pokkén Tournament DX players in the world by winning the Pokémon Players Cup

Equipped with his mains Darkrai and Braixen, Shadowcat ran through opponents in the top eight including Kira FR 3-0, Fabilous 3-2 and Alexis "Deity Light” Sims 3-0, a veteran player who paved the way for Lucario in the old school meta. 

After coming back from the loser’s bracket against Deity Light, it was Jacob “Jukem” Waller and his Sceptile who would face Shadowcat in the grand finals.

It was a close match from beginning to end, with both players winning consistent back and forth rounds - making it look like Jukem could potentially reset the bracket. 

With two matches apiece, Shadowcat hit the gas to win the entire Pokémon Players Cup 3-2 with a perfect round, leaving Jukem, the 2018 World Champion, in the dust. 

For winning the tournament, Shadowcat will receive a Travel Award to a future international championship of his choosing. 

The Pokémon Players Cup for Pokken Tournament DX began back in July, with regional qualifiers across North America, Europe and Oceania regions. 

Pokken Tournament DX final bracket for Pokemon Players Cup
The final bracket for the Pokken Tournament DX tournament (Picture: Pokemon)

There was also a Pokken Tournament DX Kickoff Invitational, which was won by Niklas “Wingtide” Laerbusch - giving him an immediate pass to compete in the finals. 

You can check out the top eight for the Pokken Tournament DX finals below. 

1. Davon “Shadowcat” Amos-Hall (US) 
2. Jacob “Jukem” Waller (US) 
3. Alexis “Deity Light” Sims (US) 
4. Fabian “Fabilous” Zahn (Germany)
5. Niklas “Wingtide” Laerbusch (Germany)
5. Kira “Kira” Peniquaud (France) 
7. Antony “Antwerp” Di Placido (Australia) 
7. Johnny “SoulGuitarist” Kane (US) 

The Pokémon Players Cup finals for Sword and Shield starts Saturday 22nd August.