Welcome back!

Sign in or create an account to enjoy GINX perks, enter competitions and access exclusive features.

Manage your account

GINX TV > News > Rainbow Six Siege

Rainbow Six Siege World Cup announced by Ubisoft

Ubisoft has announced Rainbow Six Siege is getting its own World Cup tournament, seeing 45 countries compete for glory.
Rainbow Six Siege World Cup announced by Ubisoft

As Rainbow Six Siege continues to grow as an esport, Ubisoft are now shooting for domination with their own World Cup in 2021. 

Announced during the Ubisoft Forward presentation, the Rainbow Six Siege World Cup will be the game’s first country-based competition. 

Details were scarce on how it’ll work, although it’ll feature 20 teams in total, while 45 countries will compete in qualifiers. 

The Rainbow Six World Cup has been announced (Picture: Ubisoft) 

14 countries and regions will receive a direct invite to the Final Stage, listed below. 

  • Germany
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom
  • Italy
  • France
  • United States
  • Russia
  • South Korea
  • Japan
  • Chinese Taipei (Taiwan)
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Brazil
  • Mexico

The other 31 regions will have to fight it out in qualifiers to compete. 

An official description reads: “The Rainbow Six World Cup brings players and coaches from 45 countries together in a global competition that celebrates Rainbow Six Siege and sparks new rivalries in pursuit of the World Cup trophy.”

They’ve also, randomly, enlisted NBA legend Tony Parker as an official ambassador for the World Cup event.




This announcement follows a revamped format for the Rainbow Six Siege esports scene as a whole.

This wasn’t the only good news for Rainbow Six Siege players, with Ubisoft confirming the title will release on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X this year - with current owners eligible for a free next-gen upgrade.