Welcome back!

Sign in or create an account to enjoy GINX perks, enter competitions and access exclusive features.

Manage your account

GINX TV > Guides & Tutorial > Video Games

All confirmed classes and subclasses for Lost Ark

Lost Ark will launch with five distinctive classes with unique subclasses with specialised skills and powers to customise your playstyle.
All confirmed classes and subclasses for Lost Ark

Lost Ark is the upcoming free-to-play MMO ARPG game that avid players can look forward to in February 2022. Boasting a playstyle reminiscent of popular ARPGs like Diablo and Path of Exile, the game will draw players for its punishing dungeons, mighty boss battles, and diverse character customisation options.

The MMO ARPG will feature fewer character classes than its original version; however, it still provides players with plenty of options that best suit their playstyle. This guide gives a summarised overview of the five classes and their subclasses available at launch.

What classes are available in Lost Ark?

Lost Ark has an outstanding balance within its Class system that offers a broad range of specialised skills and powers for every playstyle while meeting the demands of each player. However, before jumping into the game, players can select between the game's five distinctive classes, which will be available upon launch.

They have subclasses or Advanced Classes within each class, which enhances the original Class with a specific focus on specialised skills and powers. As the game is dependent on players' preferred playstyle, the available classes and subclasses were designed on role mechanics and not what's popular on the meta.

The classes are as follows:

  • Warrior: Berserker, Paladin, Gunlancer
  • Martial Artist: Striker, Wardancer, Scrapper, Soulfist
  • Gunner: Gunslinger, Artillerist, Deadeye, Sharpshooter
  • Mage: Bard, Sorceress (coming later)
  • Assassin: Shadowhunter, Deathblade

Currently, this brings the total number of available classes and subclasses to 15 to choose from in this fantasy MMORPG. As the game has more classes available in other regions and territories, these won't be made available at launch, but the developer will be adding them post-launch.

Smilegate posted an "Encyclopedia" video outlining the game's character customisation, emphasising the character classes and other features. But if you're not eager on watching the video, we have provided a summarised overview of each available class and their respective Advanced Classes.


According to the game's official website, the Warrior class are renowned for their strength and power throughout Arkesia. The Warrior class isn't the most agile; however, "they stand their ground and make up for mobility with cataclysmic impact".

lost ark character classes warrior class berserker subclass
The Berserker subclass is great swordsmen with an unstoppable burst mode dealing an increased amount of attacks. (Picture: Smilegate / Amazon Game Studios)

The Warrior class has three subclasses or Advanced Classes, namely Berserker, Paladin and Gunlancer. As this class mainly concentrates on powerful melee attacks and high DPS, its subclasses focus on aspects of defence and tank-like abilities.

Martial Artist

Drawing inspiration from eastern influences, the Martial Artist class are fast and agile, dealing considerable amounts of damage with weapons and their hands and feet. These battle-ready fighters inflict a flurry of attacks and combinations at high speeds, which the game describes as "breakneck".

lost ark character classes martial artis class striker subclass
The Striker subclass boasts fast aerial combo attacks while using its elemental skills to inflict damage. (Picture: Smilegrate / Amazon Game Studios)

The Martial artist class offers four Advanced Classes providing a wide range of fighting skills or incorporating weapons. Choose between Striker, Wardancer, Scrapper and Soulfist to capitalise on their powerful and fast-paced fighting capabilities, deal significant damage and change up your attacks.


As the name is quite self-explanatory, the Gunner class boast a varying range of artillery and ranged combat skills. While there aren't many differences between each subclass, the type of playstyle you prefer will determine which subclass to choose from.

lost ark character classes gunner class deadeye subclass
With a flexible playstyle and flashy attacks, the Deadeye subclass has the option to wield either a double handgun, shotgun or rifle. (Picture: Smilegate / Amazon Game Studios)

All the subclasses focused on ranged combat with some variations between them, influencing the weapons they wielded. Also featuring four subclasses, Gunslinger, Artillerist, Deadeye and Sharpshooter, they offer adequate mobility, deal continuous damage, and significant support roles, making the Gunner class an excellent starting point for beginners.


The Mage class will only support one subclass at launch; however, both deliver significant mid-to-long ranged attacks. They are dedicated magic wielders who can deal a considerable amount of damage from great distances or support their allies in combat with various healing and buffing abilities.

lost ark character classes mage class sorceress subclass
The Sorceress subclass replaces the Summoner subclass when Lost Ark launches. (Picture: Smilegate / Amazon Game Studios)

The Mage class offers two Advanced Classes, Bard and Sorceress; however, the former will only be available at launch. The developer has yet to specify the timeline for when the Sorceress subclass will be available, which we will update this story once more information becomes available.


The final class available to players is the Assassin class, and if you have played Assassin's Creed, you should know that this class specialises in stealth, speed and close-range combat. What makes this class quite fascinating is the ability to tap into their demonic powers to deal with devastating attacks with a "cataclysmic impact".

lost ark character classes assassin class shadowhunter subclass
The Shadowhunter subclass can shapeshift into demonic forms to deal significant damage while increasing their health and speed. (Picture: Smilegate / Amazon Game Studios)

Similarly, the Assassin class also boasts two subclasses, Shadowhunter and Deathblade, with a few variations between them. While the Shadowhunter utilities its shapeshifting abilities to swarm enemies with hellacious attacks, the Deathblade deals fast combos with its weapon attacks and a demonic power in tow.

It's important to note that all the classes and subclasses are gender-locked; however, you will have access to a range of customisable options to personalise your character's appearance. Alongside an equipment system to tailor your character's playstyle, which can be enhanced when you level up.


Featured image courtesy of Smilegate / Amazon Game Studios.