Video Games
News > Platform > Video Games
World

Sony State of Play - June 2nd 2022

Sony has finally announced a brand new 30-minute-long State of Play for June 2nd, 2022.
Sony State of Play - June 2nd 2022
Gamers rejoice! Sony has announced a brand new State of Play scheduled to happen on 2nd June. After being radio silent for a long time now, Sony has finally treated us with a new State of Play event which will showcase all the upcoming releases across first and third-party studios.

Many had been speculating that Sony will be holding an event in June and now our prayers have been answered as the company has officially declared the event. Here's everything you need to know about the upcoming State of Play.

Sony Announces State of Play for June 2nd

Sony State of Play 2nd June 2022
Sony has announced the next State of Play scheduled for 2nd June 2022. (Picture: Sony)

In a recent PlayStation blog post, the company said, "it’s been more than two months since our last State of Play - who’s ready for a new one? Tune in live next Thursday, 2nd June for nearly 30 minutes of announcements and updates from the world of PlayStation."

The next State of Play will happen on 2nd June and will start at 3 pm Pacific / 6 pm Eastern / 12 am CET/ 11 pm BST. Similar to previous events, the upcoming State of Play will too be just 30 minutes in runtime and Sony says that they some exciting reveals from our third-party partners, plus a sneak-peek at several games in development for PlayStation VR2."

Going the statement, the chances of any PlayStation first-party titles like God of War Ragnarok or Spiderman 2 being shown off seems quite low. That said, it will still be interesting to see what all games are featured at the event, especially the several VR games that the blog mentions.

Players will be able to watch the upcoming State of Play event on Twitch or on YouTube. Apart from that nothing much was shared in the post. This sudden announcement by Sony seems to be a way to compete with Xbox and Bethesda's showcase slated for next month as well as the Summer Game Fest.

Sony State Of Play 2nd June full lineup
The full lineup for the 2nd June Sony State of Play. (Picture: Sony)

Sony already had parted ways with E3 and started doing its own gaming showcase events, which we now know as the State of Play. Based on speculations, we can see more of Stray, an Indie-type game in which you control a cat as it tries to reunite with its family. We could also see some other unannounced games for PlayStation 5.

So, make sure to mark your calendars for 2nd June and turn up for the State of Play event to learn about all the upcoming releases and other games.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure to check out GINX for all your gaming and esports needs. We'll keep you in the loop with all the best gaming guides, industry news, and much more.

 

Featured image courtesy of Sony.