World of Warcraft
Guide & Tutorial > MMO > World of Warcraft

WoW Classic Servers Down? How To Check Status

A step-by-step guide to checking the server status of World of Warcraft (WoW) Classic for Vanilla, Burning Crusade and WotLK.
WoW Classic Servers Down? How To Check Status

World of Warcraft (WoW), from the latest expansion to new Classic releases such as Wrath of the Lich King (WotLK), is the undying MMORPG that never dies. With every release, WoW sees an influx of players, and with it, some server issues might occur. If you are wondering if the WoW Classic servers are down, you've come to the right place.

This article answers that burning question for those unable to log into World of Warcraft and features step-by-step instructions to check the WoW Classic server status.

Update 26th September 2022: Please note that with the release of WoW WotLK Classic, the servers might go down unexpectedly, or long queue times and connection issues might occur.

Release schedule: 

  • Americas - 26th September at 15:00 PDT.
  • Europe - 27th September at midnight CEST.
  • Taiwan - 27th September at 06:00 CST.
  • Korea - 27th September at 07:00 KST.
  • Australia - 27th September at 08:00 AEST.

Update ends.

Are WoW Classic Servers Down?

World of warcraft wow classic servers down check status server connection issues unable to connect europe united states us south america realms wotlk burning crusade vanilla
Heroes of Azeroth might be wondering if the WoW Classic servers are currently down. (Picture: Blizzard)

If you cannot connect to the WoW Classic servers for either Vanilla, Burning Crusade, or Wrath of the Lich King in Europe or the US, then you might wonder if they are down.

At the time of writing, the WoW Classic servers are not down. This could, however, change at a moment's notice if unscheduled maintenance or server issues occur.

Before going all IT Crowd on your PC or router, we suggest checking their status first to ensure there are no issues with the WoW Classic servers. Our next section has you covered.

How To Check WoW Classic Server Status

World of warcraft wow classic servers down check status server connection issues unable to connect europe united states us south america realms wotlk burning crusade vanilla
It is quite easy to check the World of Warcraft realms status. (Picture: Blizzard)

You can quickly check the server status for WoW Classic in Europe, North America, South America, Korea, Taiwan, and Oceania via the official Realms page for World of Warcraft.

Follow the links below to check the server World of Warcraft server status with ease across all regions and versions:

Alternatively, you can use the third-party DownDetector website page. Here, you can report any outages and check if others are experiencing World of Warcraft connection issues.

World of warcraft wow classic servers down check status server connection issues unable to connect europe united states us south america realms wotlk burning crusade vanilla
You can check user reports via DownDetector to find out if anyone else is experiencing WoW Classic server issues. (Picture: Blizzard)

If the servers are not down for maintenance or an unexpected outage, but you can't connect to WoW Classic, we suggest contacting Blizzard's customer service for your region.

So there you have it, an easy, step-by-step guide answering the question of "are the WoW Classic servers down?" and details on how to check the game's server status across Vanilla, Burning Crusade, and Wrath of the Lich King.

As always, we suggest connecting your PC or laptop to your router via a LAN cable instead of Wi-Fi for the best possible experience in any online title.

For more on the ever-popular MMORPG, check out our section dedicated to World of Warcraft, guides, news, leaks, features, and more.

 

Featured image courtesy of Blizzard Entertainment.