Destiny 2
EA FC 24 Guides
Guides & Tutorial > FPS > Destiny 2

Destiny 2 Episodes Model Explained

Bungie is replacing Destiny 2's seasonal model with an episodic model. Here's everything you need to know about it.
Destiny 2 Episodes Model Explained

Bungie is ditching the seasonal model of Destiny 2 after the launch of the Final Shape expansion. Instead of four seasons every year, the studio will now release episodes. Each year, there will be three episodes, and Bungie has already revealed the names of the episodes coming in the year of The Final Shape. 

Fans have long criticized the current Destiny 2 seasonal model, and while the transition to Episodes is indeed exciting, the question is: what will it offer? If you're planning to check out Destiny 2 post Final Shape, here's everything you need to know about its new episodic structure.

Destiny 2 Episodes Roadmap

destiny 2 episodes
Bungie is replacing seasons with episodes post Final Shape. (Picture: Bungie)

As mentioned above, from the 7th year onwards, Bungie will release three episodes as opposed to the four seasons we are used to now. The first three Destiny 2 Episodes will be: 

  • Echoes (March 2024 - August 2024)
  • Revenant (July 2024 - October 2024)
  • Heresy (November 2024 - February 2025)

What to Expect From Destiny 2 Episodes

Every episode will consist of new story quests, including new Exotic missions that will offer an Exotic weapon and armor for you to obtain. Each episode will feature three Acts, with a new Act released every six weeks. These Acts will include new artifact mods, weapons, quest activities, pass ranks, and rewards.

Will Destiny 2 Episodes Have a Season Pass?

Yes, every Destiny 2 episode will have a season pass. Bungie confirmed the news via the FAQ section on its official website. As of this writing, we don't know how season pass progression would work, especially since Bungie is working on replacing the traditional Bounties with the new Pathfinder system. We will update this article once more info is available in this regard. 

Why is Bungie Ditching Destiny 2 Seasons for Episodes?

Simply put, Bungie is ditching seasons and introducing episodes in Destiny 2 to change the storytelling and gameplay structure of the former. Fans have long complained about being burned out by the current seasonal structure, so episodes seem like feedback to that criticism. 

Destiny's ten-year-long Light and Darkness Saga is also concluding with the Final Shape expansion, so a new structure could be a breath of fresh air for veteran fans, not to mention more accessible for newcomers.

It's also important to highlight that the studio is working on two more projects alongside Destiny. These include Marathon, a PvP extraction shooter, and an unannounced team-based PvP title codenamed 'Gummy Bears.' As such, the episodes could be a way to spread things out as the team prioritizes other projects. 

For more Destiny 2 news, be sure to check out our dedicated section or take a look at some of our Guides & Tutorials just below:

WEEKLY UPDATES - Destiny 2 Weekly Reset List | Lost Sector Rotation | Raid & Dungeon Rotation | Grandmaster Nightfall Rotation | Weekly Challenges List | Xur Location | Trials of Osiris Map & Rewards | Iron Banner Schedule

FUTURE UPDATES - When Does The Next Destiny 2 Season Start | Everything We Know About 'Destiny 2 The Final Shape' | All Destiny 3 Speculation

EMBLEM & SHADERS - Free Destiny 2 Emblem Codes | How To Get Photo Finish Shader | How To Get Bergusian Night Shader


Hunter Arc Build | Hunter Solar Build | Hunter Stasis Build | Hunter Strand Build | Hunter Void Build


Titan Arc Build | Titan Solar Build | Titan Stasis Build | Titan Strand Build | Titan Void Build


Warlock Arc Build | Warlock Solar Build | Warlock Stasis Build | Warlock Strand Build | Warlock Void Build

Exotics, Catalyst & God Rolls - Alter of Reflection Catalyst Quest | Austringer God Roll | Calus Midi Tool God RollDead Man's Tale God Roll | Fixed Odds God Roll | Hawkmoon God Roll | How To Get Come To PassHow To Get Dawn ChorusHow To Get Omnioculus | How To Get Star-Eater Scales | Mechabre God RollOsteo Striga Catalyst | Riptide God Roll | Queens and Worms Quest

Game Guides - How To Unlock All Subclasses | Enemy Strikes Guide | How To Get More Loadout Slots