League of Legends
League of Legends

FunPlus Phoenix upset by Invictus Gaming in opening LPL match

The reigning champions of Worlds failed to defeat the 2018 winning team in the opening match of the Tencent League of Legends Pro League, kicking off the year's first professional season.
FunPlus Phoenix upset by Invictus Gaming in opening LPL match

FunPlus Phoenix have fallen in the first LPL match of 2020 LoL esports season to the 2018 World Championship winners Invictus Gaming.

This upset comes as FPX return to the competitive stage following their triumph in Europe during the 2019 World Championship that saw them crush G2 Esports 3-0 in the grand final.

During Worlds, iG lost to FPX in a semifinal LPL clash and the eventual tournament winners took the series 3-1.

Despite FPX leading in kills and CS on the verge of victory, iG were able to fight back and take advantage of FPX's mistakes to claw back a victory to start the year.

Fans will have to wait for the official debut of Aphelios, but Senna was left open and iG were the ones to select her. The full compositions for both teams are listed below:

FunPlus Phoenix

Top Ornn.png Kim "Khan" Dong-ha
Jungle JarvanIV.png Gao "Tian" Tian-Liang
Mid Ryze.pngKim "Doinb" Tae-sang
ADC MissFortune.png Lin "Lwx" Wei-Xiang
Support Leona.png Liu "Crisp" Qing-Song

Invictus Gaming

Top Aatrox.png Kang "TheShy" Seung-lok
Jungle Qiyana.png Gao "Ning" Zhen-Ning
Mid Rumble.png Song "Rookie" Eui-jin
ADC Senna.png Ding "Puff" Wang
Support Braum.png Su "Southwind" Zhi-Lin


TheShy managed to claim the first MVP of the season after dealing 30% of the total team damage in the match on Aatrox.

While the loss is disappointing for the Worlds champions, FunPlus Phoenix suffered a similar loss to iG during LPL Summer 2019 but still managed to go 14-1 for that Split and dominate the competitive region.

The chance at redemption looked promising in the second match as FPX evened the scoreline, but iG were able to finish on top to take the series 2-1.

The wait is now on for the FPX skins that will be added to the game. On his stream, FPX mid laner Doinb has confirmed the champions that will receive skins are Gangplank, Lee Sin Malphite, Vayne and Thresh.