League of Legends
News > MOBA > League of Legends
World

League of Legends v12.1: Release date, buffs and nerfs, ranked season updates, new skins, and more

League's first major patch of 2022 will add new updates for the ranked queues, an overhaul for the Teleport, and a couple of gloomy skins.
League of Legends v12.1: Release date, buffs and nerfs, ranked season updates, new skins, and more
After a short holiday break, the League of Legends patch cycle is about to begin again, this time welcoming all players to Season 2022.

While we already know some of the content that will come to the MOBA during the course of the year, in addition to the big changes that debuted during the preseason such as the new Hextech and Quimtech dragons, Riot today revealed everything related to League’s patch 12.1.

So without further ado, the time has come to jump back into Summoner's Rift, and discover together with us all the balance changes and new content available in the first League of Legends patch, for 2022.

LoL patch 12.1 release date

The first patch of the Season 2022 is expected to hit the main servers tomorrow, January 4th, however, this will serve to prepare all the players and different game modes, for the start of the new competitive season.

League of Legends 12.1 patch notes
League's Season 2022 is about to get started. (Picture: Riot Games)

Likewise, Riot has also revealed the times of the start of the season, in which the ranked queues will be reset and the new rewards for Split 1 will be added.

Region & Local Major City

Local Time

PST Time

OC1 (Australia/Sydney)

7th January, 04:00:01 AEDT

6th January, 09:00:01 PST

JP1 (Asia/Tokyo)

7th January, 04:00:01 JST

6th January, 11:00:01 PST

KR (Asia/Seoul)

7th January, 04:00:01 KST

6th January, 11:00:01 PST

CN (Asia/Shanghai)

7th January, 09:00:01 CST*

6th January, 17:00:01 PST*

PH (Asia/Manila)

7th January, 04:00:01 PST

6th January, 12:00:01 PST

SG (Asia/Singapore)

7th January, 04:00:01 +08

6th January, 12:00:01 PST

TW (Asia/Taipei)

7th January, 04:00:01 CST

6th January, 12:00:01 PST

TH (Asia/Bangkok)

7th January, 04:00:01 +07

6th January, 13:00:01 PST

VN (Asia/Ho Chi Minh City)

7th January, 04:00:01 +07

6th January, 13:00:01 PST

RU (Europe/Moscow)

7th January, 04:00:01 MSK

7th January, 17:00:01 PST

TR1 (Europe/Istanbul)

7th January, 04:00:01 +03

7th January, 17:00:01 PST

EUN1 (Europe/Warsaw)

7th January, 04:00:01 CET

7th January, 19:00:01 PST

EUW1 (Europe/London)

7th January, 04:00:01 GMT

7th January, 20:00:01 PST

BR1 (America/São Paulo)

7th January, 04:00:01 -03

7th January, 23:00:01 PST

LA2 (America/Buenos Aires)

7th January, 04:00:01 -03

7th January, 23:00:01 PST

LA1 (America/Mexico City)

7th January, 04:00:01 CST

7th January, 02:00:01 PST

NA1 (America/Los Angeles)

7th January, 04:00:01 PST

7th January, 04:00:01 PST

LoL patch 12.1 buffs and nerfs

Champions changes

Following with the changes to champions and items, Riot concentrated this time on making adjustments for a specific group, with the main affected being Sona and Rek'Sai, who will have a bigger cooldown in their Es as well as less damage in the case of the beast from the Void, and less armour scaling for the muse.

League of Legends 12.1 patch notes
Sona, the Maven of the Strings. (Picture: Riot Games)

On the other hand, Diana will see a substantial increase in her damage thanks to a buff to her passive, both in AP and damage to monsters ratio. Finally, Gangplank will have a lower mana cost to his Q, and a reduction in cooldown.

Diana

  • Passive – Moonsilver Blade: AP ratio goes from 40% to 50%, monster damage from 250% to 300%

Gangplank

  • Q – Parrrley: Mana cost from 60/55/50/45/40 to 55/50/45/40/35, cooldown from 5 to 4.5 seconds

Rek'Sai

  • E - Furious Bite: Physical Damage from 50/60/70/80/90 (+85% bonus AD) to 55/60/65/70/75 (+85% bonus AD)
  • E - Tunnel: Cooldown from 26/23/20/17/14 to 26/24/22/20/18 seconds

Sona

  • Base Armor Growth from 3.5 to 3
  • E - Song of Celerity: Cooldown from 12 to 14 seconds

Item changes

During the preseason, different offensive items managed to stay within the top tier for any comp, so their presence in the game became more than crucial for the victory and to secure kills and objectives.

League of Legends 12.1 patch notes
Darius is one of those champions who benefited the most of these items. (Picture: Riot Games)

That said, there are four main targets that are now getting some pretty meaty nerfs, that will completely change their dominance in the Rift.

Eclipse

  • Ever Rising Moon Cooldown (Melee) from 6 to 8 seconds

Force of Nature

  • Absorb Stack Duration from 5 to 7 seconds
  • Dissipate Magic Damage Reduction from 20% to 25%

Immortal Shieldbow

  • Attack Damage from 55 to 50
  • Lifeline Shield from 300-800 (based on level) to 275-650 (based on level)

Wit's End

  • Build Path from Hearthbound Axe + Negatron Cloak + Long Sword + 750 gold to Hearthbound Axe + Null-Magic Mantle + Pickaxe + 675 gold (total cost unchanged)
  • Magic Resist from 50 to 40

Summoner Spells changes

As rumoured for a few weeks now, the Teleport, one of the most important tools for any single laner in League, will receive a major adjustment that will change its impact during the mid and late game, by adding a new evolutionary phase and new cooldowns.

League of Legends 12.1 patch notes
The teleport is getting a massive overhaul for 2022. (Picture: Riot Games)

At first, Teleport will only be enabled for use on allied towers, but once tower plating falls at 14 minutes, Teleport will transform into Unleashed Teleport, which can target allied towers, minions, wards, and certain allied constructs (same as Season 2021 Teleport).

Teleport’s cooldown will be fixed at 360 seconds at all levels, while it will be reduced to 240 seconds once it evolves into its Unleashed state.

LoL patch 12.1 ranked season updates

After the preview released several months ago by Riot, the first visual changes to the LoL client will arrive shortly with patch 12.1.

To begin, players will be able to observe the transformation of Ranked Armor into Ranked Crests both in their profiles, as well as in the ranked pages, game lobbies, and friends lists.

League of Legends 12.1 patch notes
First look at the new Ranked Crests set to arrive tomorrow. (Picture: Riot Games)

Also, all loading screen borders have been updated to match the new Ranked Crests, while several parts of the game lobby UI have been rearranged for clarity.

Another important change that will come in this patch is for the decay rules for the Apex tiers (aka Master, Grandmaster, and Challenger), since now the players of these tiers will have an extension of 10 to 14 days to prevent automatic relegation, and the decay rate will go from 250 LP per day to 75 LP per day.

However, the decay floor will now be up to Diamond II, rather than Diamond I. Additionally, Riot has confirmed the diamond decay rules won't change this season.

LoL patch 12.1 new skins

Finally, we will have a couple of new skins based on the Elderwood theme starting tomorrow, for both Gnar and Rek'Sai.

Each of these will come with eight different chromas to choose from, so you'll have a great arsenal on hand to best suit your style.

Both skins will be available for 1,350 RP, while the chromas will be priced at 290 RP each.

Don’t forget to check out our League of Legends dedicated section for more news, guides, updates, and everything esports.

Featured image courtesy of Riot Games.