Magic the Gathering
EA FC24 Guides
Guides & Tutorial > Card Game > Magic the Gathering

Magic The Gathering Modern Format Banlist

Every format of Magic The Gathering has a unique banlist, and Modern is no different.
Magic The Gathering Modern Format Banlist

There are a lot of formats in Magic The Gathering, and each one has its own individual ban list. Depending on the format, different cards are banned in order to prevent one deck from becoming too overwhelmingly powerful or to prevent decks from always having the same card in it. Modern format is no different, and we've got the full ban list of cards that you can't play in the format.

Magic The Gathering Modern Format Banlist

Magic The Gathering's Modern Format allows players to use any cards that have been printed from the Eighth edition through to today, allowing a huge swathe of cards that can be played, but certain cards are restricted from play in competitive elements due to being seen as overpowered or too broken for certain decks.

  • Ancient Den
  • Arcum's Astrolabe
  • Birthing Pod
  • Blazing Shoal
  • Bridge From Below
  • Chrome Mox
  • Cloudpost
  • Dark Depths
  • Deathrite Shaman
  • Dig Through Time
  • Dread Return
  • Eyes of Ugin
  • Faithless Looting
  • Field of the Dead
  • Gitaxian Probe
  • Glimpse of Nature
  • Golgari Grave-Troll
  • Great Furnace
  • Green Sun's Zenith
  • Hogaak, Arisen Necropolis
  • Hypergenesis
  • Krark-Clan Ironworks
  • Lurrus of the Dream-Den
  • Mental Misstep
  • Mox Opal
  • Mycosynth Lattice
  • Mystic Sanctuary
  • Oko, Thief of Crowns
  • Once Upon a Time
  • Ponder
  • Punishing Fire
  • Rite of Flame
  • Seat of the Synod
  • Second Sunrise
  • Seething Song
  • Sensei's Divining Top
  • Simian Spirit Guide
  • Skullclamp
  • Splinter Twin
  • Summer Bloom
  • Tibalt's Trickery
  • Treasure Cruise
  • Tree of Tales
  • Umezawa's Jitte
  • Uro, Titan of Nature's Wrath
  • Vault of Whispers
  • Yorion, Sky Nomad