Overwatch
Guides & Tutorial > FPS > Overwatch

What Time Does Overwatch 2 Launch?

Overwatch 2 releases on 4th October 2022, so here's when the servers will shut down and what time OW2 launches.
What Time Does Overwatch 2 Launch?

The highly anticipated release of Overwatch 2 is nearing, with publisher Blizzard Entertainment announcing several changes ahead of its release on 4th October 2022. For starters, the game will go free-to-play, with new maps, a hero rework, and more.

More recently, however, Blizzard Entertainment announced they would shut down the Overwatch 1 servers before the update is deployed. With that said, it's natural that you might want to know when Overwatch 2 will be launching in your time zone to best prepare.

What Time Does Overwatch 2 Go Live?

overwatch 2 what time does it launch
Overwatch 2 will launch on 4th October 2022 at 12:00 p.m. PT. (Picture: Blizzard Entertainment)

According to an official blog post by Blizzard Entertainment on 27th September 2022, "Overwatch 2 is anticipated to be live worldwide at approximately 12:00 p.m. PDT on October 4."

If you’re wondering what time it will launch in your local time zone, we have provided a list of popular time zone below for your convenience.

4th October 2022

  • 12:00 p.m. PT (United States)
  • 2:00 p.m. CT (United States)
  • 3:00 p.m. ET (United States)
  • 7:00 p.m. GMT
  • 8:00 p.m. BST (United Kingdom)
  • 9:00 p.m. CET (Europe)
  • 10:00 p.m. MSK (Russia)

5th October 2022

  • 12:30 a.m. IST (India)
  • 03:00 a.m. CST (China)
  • 4:00 a.m. JST (Japan)
  • 06:00 a.m. AUS (Australia)

Overwatch 2 will release on various gameplay platforms, including Microsoft Windows PC, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, Playstation 4|5, and Nintendo Switch. The game will also be crossplay enabled.

If you own Overwatch 1, you will also receive a Founder’s Pack, which will include a mystery gift, two new skins, and an exclusive founder’s icon.

When Will Overwatch 1 Server Shut Down?

overwatch 2 blizzard entertainment server shutdown what time will it launch founders pack
Servers will be shutting down to make way for a new and improved Overwatch 2. (Picture: Blizzard Entertainment)

The publisher noted that the Overwatch servers would temporarily be shut down before Overwatch 2 launches. In particular, the Overwatch 1 servers will go down starting at "approximately 9:00 a.m. PDT on October 3. This means October 2 is your last full day to play the original Overwatch."

As a result, the Overwatch 1 servers will be down for just over a day, returning online on 4th October 2022 at 12:00 p.m. PDT when Overwatch 2 goes live. Now that you know when the servers will go down, you should read our guide about merging your Overwatch and Battle.net accounts.

And that concludes our guide on what time Overwatch 2 will launch. 

For more on the game, check our section dedicated to Overwatch 2 news, guides, and features.

 

Featured image courtesy of Blizzard Entertainment.