OK

Videos results

Fetch more videos

Articles results

Fetch more posts

Users results

Fetch more users

Overwatch League 2020 launch weekend viewer’s guide: Schedule and how to watch

As the third Overwatch League officially kicks off this weekend, here’s what you need to know about the opening homestands and where to catch the action.

While future Overwatch League events have been affected by the Coronavirus in China, the opening weekend in New York and Arlington, Texas is still on course to kick off proceedings.  

With many casters and players either leaving or retiring, this year’s Overwatch League has an element of uncertainty hanging over it – something developer Blizzard will be hoping to quash this weekend.  

Ready for a weekend of Overwatch? Here’s everything you need to know.  

When does the Overwatch League 2020 start?  

The opening weekend of the Overwatch League is spread across two locations from Saturday 8th February to Sunday 9th February. 

The first is the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York, hosted by New York Excelsior. Dallas Fuel will simultaneously host the other at Arlington Esports Stadium in Texas.

Is there a new format?  

This is the first Overwatch League season to adopt a new city-based, home and away format. Teams will now travel across the world to play regular season matches, after last year’s season only featured three homestands and primarily took place at Blizzard Arena in Burbank, California. 

The new format has encountered some issues already however, with China’s homestand games delayed by the outbreak of the Coronavirus.  

What teams are competing?  

All the teams in the Overwatch League 2020 are listed below.  

  • Boston Uprising 

  • London Spitfire 

  • New York Excelsior 

  • Paris Eternal 

  • Toronto Defiant 

  • Atlanta Reign 

  • Florida Mayhem 

  • Houston Outlaws 

  • Philadelphia Fusion 

  • Washington Justice 

  • Chengdu Hunters 

  • Guangzhou Charge 

  • Hangzhou Spark 

  • Seoul Dynasty 

  • Shanghai Dragons 

  • Dallas Fuel 

  • Los Angeles Gladiators 

  • Los Angeles Valiant 

  • San Francisco Shock 

  • Vancouver Titans 

What is the schedule for the opening weekend? 

You can check out the full schedule for the Overwatch League opening weekend below. 

San Francisco Shock win Overwatch League 2019
San Francisco Shock won last year's Overwatch League (Picture: Blizzard) 

Saturday 8th February (hosted by New York Excelsior) 

Toronto Defiant vs. Paris Eternal – 1pm ET/ 10am PT/ 6pm GMT 

London Spitfire vs. New York Excelsior – 3pm ET/ 12pm PT/ 8pm GMT 

 

Saturday 8th February (hosted by Dallas Fuel) 

Los Angeles Gladiators vs. Vancouver Titans – 4pm CT/ 2pm PT/ 10pm GMT 

Los Angeles Valiant vs. Dallas Fuel – 6pm CT/ 4pm PT/ 12am GMT 

 

Sunday 9th February (hosted by New York Excelsior) 

London Spitfire vs. Paris Eternal – 1pm ET/ 10am PT/ 6pm GMT 

Boston Uprising vs. New York Excelsior – 3pm ET/ 12pm PT/ 8pm GMT 

 

Sunday 9th February (hosted by Dallas Fuel) 

Los Angeles Valiant vs. Vancover Titans – 4pm CT/ 2pm PT/ 10pm GMT 

San Francisco Shock vs. Dallas Fuel – 6pm CT/ 4pm PT/ 12am GMT 

Who is casting the Overwatch League 2020?

Following a spree of departures, Blizzard have gradually announced who will be filling the void for the Overwatch League 2020.  

Three casting duos have been confirmed, who are as follows:  

  • Brennon “Bren” Hook and Josh “Sideshow” Wilkinson 

  • Jacob “Jake” Lyon and Andrew “ZP” Rush 

  • Jack “Jaws” Wright and Robert “Hexagrams” Kirkbride 

Scott “Custa” Kennedy and Jonathan “Reinforce” Larsson have been confirmed as analysts, while Soe Gschwind will host.  

Who is tipped for success?  

As winners of last year’s Overwatch League, San Francisco Shock will be looking to continue their dominating streak in 2020.  

They face stiff competition from a number of teams who have made promising recent acquisitions – with New York Excelsior and Atlanta Reigns possessing all the potential to be hot on their heels.  

Where can I watch Overwatch League 2020? 

This year’s Overwatch League will be broadcast exclusively on YouTube. You can check out their channel here.  

 

Adam Starkey

Adam Starkey

Written by GINX redaction

Leave a comment

×

LIVE ESPORTS.
DON'T COMPROMISE.

  • Unlimited access to GINX.tv.
  • Exclusive series and documentaries, every week.
  • No ads.
Then $4.99 per month - no commitment.