These Are The Teams Going To CS:GO's ELeague Major

These Are The Teams Going To CS:GO's ELeague Major

Now that the offline tournament has taken place, the full list of qualified teams for the 16-team ELeague Major can now be confirmed. The offline tournament, which took place over the last four days, saw 16 teams fight for a place in the next ELeague competition with only eight teams going on to face the remaining eight already invited. It was Godsent and FaZe Clan who came out on top, placing in first and second respectively and earning the highest qualified position during the tournament. Both teams showed exceptional performances - as we've come to expect from the two - with both going on to win all three of their games with a considerable round win/loss ratio. They were followed by Mousesports who, after a stint of poor performances, managed to once again reclaim some of the underdog excitement that seems to follow the team around thanks to an incredible showing. Though Mousesports lost its first game, it still maintained and great deal of dominance over its competition and ended the offline tournament with the largest round difference than any other team, and impressive +27 difference. In fourth and fifth were OpTic Gaming and Team Dignitas, who both began the tournament well before stumbling in the second game. Ultimately they went on to win the follow third and fourth series', but neither showed a real sign of strength throughout. It was Team EnVyUs and G2 Esports who struggled the most of the big names, but still managed to secure a place in the ELeague Major thanks to its three out of five wins. Underdog Hellraisers were the big surprise, however, coming in eighth place and proving to the world that it can be a threat in the CS:GO scene. But most surprising was how they managed to beat the likes of Cloud9, Immortals and Vega Squadron to the main event. Erratic performers Ninjas In Pyjamas once again found themselves unable to qualify after struggling to win any of its games, matching Counter Logic Gaming in its poor results in the offline qualifier. The eight qualified teams for the ELeague Major are:

  • FaZe Clan
  • Mousesports
  • OpTic Gaming
  • Team Dignitas
  • Team EnVyUs
  • G2 Esports
  • HellRaisers

These eight teams will be playing alongside the eight teams already invited to the ELeague Major since they were the top eight at ESL One Cologne earlier this year. These invited teams are:

  • Fnatic
  • Team Liquid
  • SK Gaming
  • Virtus.pro
  • Astralis
  • FlipSid3 Tactics
  • Gambit Esports
  • Natus Vincere

ELeague's Major tournament will be one of the earliest esports events of the new year, and the first significant CS:GO competition of 2017. It will take place between January 22-29 at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta.