Destiny 2
News > FPS > Destiny 2

Destiny 2 Season 17 Power Levels Revealed

Destiny 2 Season 17 means different Power Level (PL) requirements for most high-end activities such as Trials of Osiris or Nightfalls.
Destiny 2 Season 17 Power Levels Revealed

Destiny 2 Season 17 is set to start on 24th May, bringing a new seasonal quest, loot, and activities to complete. As always, the Power Level (PL) requirements will change, giving players something to grind for early on.

At a basic level, Power Level determines how strong your Guardian is. The higher your PL, the more effective you'll be against enemies in different activities. Some PvE modes, like Nightfalls, require a certain PL to access them, in terms of PvP, Trials of Osiris has PL advantages enabled, meaning that if you haven't grinded enough, you'd play at a massive detriment. 

Previously, Iron Banner had Power Level advantages enabled but starting with season 17, Bungie has decided to scrap that to make the activity more accessible. 

With the 19th May This Week at Bungie update, the developers finally gave fans a concrete set of information regarding the PL changes coming with Season 17.

Let's not keep you waiting and get down to it.

Destiny 2 Season of the Haunted Power Levels

destiny 2 season 17 pl
Power Level will increase slightly with season 17. (Picture: Bungie)

If you're new to Destiny 2 or aren't as familiarised with some of the terms used to describe PL, Bungie issued a quick refresher, which you can see down below:

  • Floor - The lowest possible Power for a piece of gear; starting point for new characters. 
  • Soft cap - The point at which general drops stop being automatic upgrades; Powerful gear drops are now the best way to gain Power. 
  • Power cap - The point at which Powerful drops stop being upgrades; Pinnacle gear drops are now the only way to gain Power. 
  • Hard cap - Max possible Power from Pinnacle drops (ignoring Artifact Power).

Unlike Season of the Risen, which was accompanied by the latest Destiny 2 expansion, The Witch Queen, Power Level in Season 17 will only see a minimum increase. 

The Power Floor will remain the same, at 1350PL, the rest of caps have a +10PL requirements:

  • Soft Cap: 1510 (up from 1500) 
  • Powerful Cap: 1560 (up from 1550) 
  • Hard Cap: 1570 (up from 1560) 
destiny 2 power levels
Seasonal PL increases will be smaller than expansion ones. (Picture: Bungie)

Previously, seasonal PL increases were bigger, but it was deemed punishing, especially for more casual players who didn't have enough time to grind on a constant basis.

With a minimal PL increase, veterans will still have to sink some time to get to the hard cap faster, while leaving room for new ones to discover things at their own pace.

For Season 17, expect a new dungeon to hit the game at some point, so better get that PL as high as you can so you don't miss out on it.

For more on the game, check out our section dedicated to Destiny 2 gun breakdowns, activity guides, and more.


Featured image courtesy of Bungie.

For more Destiny 2 news, be sure to check out our dedicated section or take a look at some of our Guides & Tutorials just below:

Weekly Updates - Destiny 2 Weekly Reset | Destiny 2 Weekly Challenges | Destiny 2 Xur Location This Week | Destiny 2 Trials of Osiris Map & Rewards This Week | Destiny 2 Lost Sector Rotation |

Upcoming Updates - Destiny 2 Season 19 Release Date | Destiny 2 The Dawning Event 2022| Destiny 2 Lightfall Release Date | Everything We Know About 'Destiny 2 The Final Shape'

Exotics, Catalyst & God Rolls - Alter of Reflection Catalyst Quest | Austringer God Roll | Calus Midi Tool God RollDead Man's Tale God Roll | Fixed Odds God Roll | Hawkmoon God Roll | How To Get Come To PassHow To Get Dawn ChorusHow To Get Omnioculus | How To Get Star-Eater Scales | Mechabre God RollOsteo Striga Catalyst | Riptide God Roll | Queens and Worms Quest

Game Guides - Destiny 2 Redeem CodesHow To Unlock All Subclasses | Memories of Ruin Puzzle Solution| Strikes Guide | Where To Farm Cabal | Where To Farm Fallen | Where To Farm Hive | Where To Farm Scorn | Where To Farm Vex | How To Get 100k Nightfall Score

Raid Guides - Master King's Fall Totem Challenge Explained |