GINX TV > Guides & Tutorial > Dota 2

Dota 2 Ranking System - How Does MMR & Rank Medals Work?

The Dota 2 ranking system can be a bit confusing for new players. Check out this guide to learn about MMR and how ranking works.
Dota 2 Ranking System - How Does MMR & Rank Medals Work?

The MMR ranking system in Dota 2 can be confusing for new players, especially those who want to start playing Ranked games. Matchmaking Ranking or MMR is an ELO-based system that ensures players of a higher rank don't match with lower ranking players to ensure fair play. 

For players wanting to start playing Dota 2 more competitively, we have prepared a guide to assist you on your ranked journey, detailing how to begin playing Ranked matches, how the Dota 2 ranking system works, and all the achievable Rank Medals.

Dota 2 - How do MMR and Rank Medals work?

dota 2 rank system explained how does mmr work rank medals 2022
There are eight achievable Rank Medals in Dota 2. (Picture: Valve / Dota 2)

Matchmaking Rating or MMR in Dota 2 is a tool used to rank players' skills, partly to ensure fair play (i.e., match players of equal skill with each other) but also to demonstrate players' prowess. Players can achieve eight rank medals in Dota 2, each comprising five stars of progression.

We should note that winning Ranked matches will increase your MMR but losing will also decrease it; the rank will change if you lose. For beginners, players must first play 100 hours of Dota 2 before they can play Ranked matches. This condition is to prevent account boosting and surfing, which is a major issue in Dota 2.

rank calibration dota 2 mmr explained
Rank calibration can only be done once a year. (Picture: Valve / Dota 2) 

After unlocking Ranked mode in Dota 2, players must play 10 Calibration matches to determine their MMR and begin earning their Ranked Medals. Players can also request a recalibration to adjust their rank; however, they can only do this once a year.

All MMR Ranks in Dota 2: 

Behind each Rank Medal is a loosely defined MMR Ranking range, which is defined as follows:

  • Herald: 0 MMR - 616 MMR

  • Guardian: 770 MMR - 1386 MMR

  • Crusader: 1540 MMR - 2156 MMR 

  • Archon: 2310 MMR - 2926 MMR 

  • Legend: 3080 MMR - 3696 MMR

  • Ancient: 3850 MMR - 4486 MMR

  • Divine: 4620 MMR - 5420 MMR

  • Immortal: 5460 MMR + 

  • Immortal (Ranked): Placing in the top rankings of your region

And that concludes our guide on the ranking system in Dota 2.

And that's all. For more on the game, head to our section dedicated to the latest Dota 2 news, guides, tips, and more.


Feature image courtesy of Valve / Dota 2.