×
OR

By continuing, I agree to GINX' Terms and Conditions

OR
Please enter a valide email address

Already a GINX member? Sign in

CHOOSE YOUR USERNAME

Your username is how other community members will see you. Ever dreamt of being called JohnWick ? Now is the time.

Back
Super Smash Bros Melee
Videos results
Fetch more videos
Articles results
Fetch more posts
Users results
Fetch more users
News > Fighting Games > Super Smash Bros Melee
World

Smash Melee charity event The Octagon: Start time, line-up and how to watch

Prepare to make battle in Zain’s domain this Saturday as Super Smash Bros. Melee heavyweights face off in grudge matches for charity.
Smash Melee charity event The Octagon: Start time, line-up and how to watch

Some of Super Smash Bros. Melee’s top players will battle in a special showcase this weekend, run by Golden Guardians. 

While Super Smash Bros. Ultimate has been served with Quarantine Series events throughout lockdown, the Melee scene has been relatively quiet in comparison. 

A new showcase event however, headlined by Golden Guardians player Zain Naghmi, looks to assemble the community back into action. So here’s what you need to know about The Octagon. 

 

What is the Octagon?

The Octagon Smash Melee
Enter the Octagon aka Zain's domain (Picture: YouTube)

 

The Octagon is described as a “one night showcase of Melee’s heavyweights” on Saturday 20th June which revolves around a headline grudge match between Zain Naghmi and Joseph “Mang0” Marquez. 

There will be three other matches in the run-up to the main event. The showcase is also a charity fundraiser, with the NAACP Legal Defense Fund to receive all donations made during the livestream. Golden Guardians will also match any donations made up to $5,000. 

 

What is the format and prize pool? 

Each match will be first to five wins with a $1,000 prize for the headline showcase between Zain and Mang0. 

 

What is the line-up and start time? 

The Octagon starts on Saturday 20th June at the below times depending on your region. 

  • West Coast US - 5pm PT
  • East Coast US - 8pm ET
  • UK - 1am BST (Sunday 21st June)
  • Europe - 2am CEST (Sunday 21st June)

The line-up of matches are listed below. 

  • Weston “Westballz” Dennis vs. Coby “iBDW” Schwab
  • Edward “n0ne” L. Sheleby vs. Johnny “S2J” Kim
  • Kevin “PewPewU” Toy vs. Zachary “SFAT” Cordoni
  • Zain Naghmi vs Joseph “Mang0” Marquez

 

How can I watch The Octagon? 

The entire event will be streamed on the Golden Guardians Twitch channel.