GINX TV > Guides & Tutorial > Assassin's Creed Valhalla

Assassin's Creed Valhalla - How To Start The Forgotten Saga

Start your Rogue-lite adventure through the new Forgotten Saga mode in Assassin's Creed Valhalla for free.
Assassin's Creed Valhalla - How To Start The Forgotten Saga

The Forgotten Saga mode in Assassin's Creed Valhalla is the latest in a long line of updates that have been added to the game since its release. Like so many before it, the update is free and anyone can potentially start the quest as long as they own the base game for Valhalla.

Though this update brings players back to the nine realms as Havi, this will not give access to the Dawn of Ragnarok expansion that came out in early 2022. Instead, the Forgotten Saga mode will have players speak with Valka and everyone will need a certain amount of progression within the main story. 

How to Start The Forgotten Saga Mode - AC Valhalla

Forgotten Saga quest
Find Everold to initiate the new mode. (Picture: YouTube / WoW Quests)

Most free updates will begin at the Ravensthorpe settlement, which is the hub for most of the game. This settlement is put together as soon as you reach England, so you must make it that far first.

Your second requirement is to build the Seer's Hut with a settlement ready to go. This will give you access to Asgard and the other realms.

To begin the Forgotten Saga, you must have visited Asgard at least once. We would recommend that you complete the Seer's quests before entering this new update, but it's not a requirement. As long as you have entered Asgard and come back to the real world, you can pick up the new quest.

In Ravensthorpe, there will be a new craftsman that arrives named Everold. He is located at the far side of the settlement and will be marked by the new quest once you mark it. The new quest is labeled as "A Gift From Another World" and speaking to him is the first task.

When you interact with Everold, a cutscene with him and Valka will begin. They talk about the new hut and it will be built once the scene ends.

There are no additional requirements beyond this. All you need to do from here is enter the newly built shop for Everold and interact with the potion. You'll be brought to the Forgotten Saga section of the game.

Forgotten Saga bosses
Fight different bosses to reach the end of the mode. (Picture: Ubisoft)

The new area is Niflheim, the misty world of the dead in Norse Mythology. Like God of War, this realm is used as a Rogue-lite experience separate from the main story. You will progress as far as you can to take out bosses in increasingly more difficult areas.

If you die, you must restart, but you'll keep some of your progress. That makes the Forgotten Saga a Rogue-lite mode in Assassin's Creed Valhalla.

For more coverage, make sure to check out our dedicated Assassin's Creed Valhalla section for all the best game guides, update information, and much more.


Featured image courtesy of Ubisoft.