×
OR

By continuing, I agree to GINX' Terms and Conditions

OR
Please enter a valide email address

Already a GINX member? Sign in

CHOOSE YOUR USERNAME
›

Your username is how other community members will see you. Ever dreamt of being called JohnWick ? Now is the time.

Back
Genshin Impact
News > RPG > Genshin Impact
World

Genshin Impact 2.1 update maintenance: Server downtime and free Primogems

What travellers need to know about the Genshin Impact 2.1 update maintenance schedule, from the exact server downtime in your region to the free 300 Primogems as a reward.
The highly-anticipated Genshin Impact 2.1 update goes live on 31st August or 1st September 2021, depending on your region. Travellers are ecstatic about all the new content, from new Inazuma Islands to new weapons, characters such as Aloy, Kujou Sara and Baal, brand-new Archon quests, a Fishing system and much, much more. Entitled "Floating World Under the Moonlight", Genshin Impact 2.1 is undoubtedly an exciting update and one that travellers will want to jump into as soon as humanly possible. With that in mind, here's the Genshin Impact 2.1 update maintenance schedule, showcasing the exact server downtime in your region, as well as the free Primogems as compensation for the servers being down. 

Genshin Impact 2.1 update maintenance schedule - server downtime

Firstly, to get in and experience the fresh new content as quickly as possible, you can already pre-install the Genshin Impact 2.1 update by following our handy guide

Genshin Impact 2.1 update maintenance schedule server downtime free primogems
Players can pre-install Genshin Impact 2.1 from Paimon Menu in the game. (Picture: miHoYo)

The developers have revealed the exact server maintenance schedule for the Genshin Impact 2.1 update, with server downtime starting at 06:00 (UTC +8). Timezones are sometimes a bit confusing, so we've got you covered.

Server downtime start for Genshin Impact 2.1

  • 15:00 PDT on 31st August
  • 17:00 CT on 31st August
  • 18:00 ET on 31st August
  • 23:00 BST on 31st August
  • 03:00 IST on 1st September 
  • 08:00 HKT on 1st September

Server downtime end for Gensin Impact 2.1

  • 20:00 PDT on 31st August
  • 22:00 CT on 31st August
  • 23:00 ET on 31st August
  • 04:00 BST on 1st September
  • 08:00 IST on 1st September
  • 13:00 HKT on 1st September

miHoYo explains in a post about the Genshin Impact 2.1 update maintenance schedule: "While the update maintenance is in progress, Travelers will be unable to log in to the game. Please take note of the update time and schedule your game time accordingly to avoid losing your progress. We hope Travelers will bear with us during the disruption."

Genshin Impact 2.1 server downtime maintenance schedule rewards free primogems
We can't wait for Aloy to enter Genshin Impact. (Picture: miHoYo)

Remember, anything can happen and there's always a chance server downtime might be extended if the developer runs into any issues. 

Genshin Impact 2.1 server downtime rewards

As compensation for the server downtime ushering in Genshin Impact 2.1, the developers will be giving away 300 Primogems per player. That's 60 Primogems for every hour the servers are down. It is also important to note that even if the servers come up earlier than expected, players will still receive 300 Primogems.

Genshin Impact 2.1 update server downtime maintenance schedule free primogems reward
The wait for Genshin Impact 2.1 is almost over. (Picture: miHoYo)

Travellers who wish to claim the free Primigems as compensation for the Genshin Impact servers going down for the 2.1 update maintenance need to have reached Adventure Rank 5 before the servers go down.

Players will also have to claim these free Primogems before the end of Version 2.1. An in-game mail with your reward will be sent within five hours of the server downtime ending. The mail expires in 30 days, so claim the reward while you can!

So there you have it, the Genshin Impact 2.1 update maintenance schedule, the expected server downtime, and the rewards players will be able to receive.

Don't forget to check our dedicated Genshin Impact section, where you can find all the news, guides and leaks you desire, as well as our Genshin Impact Twitter account