×
OR

By continuing, I agree to GINX' Terms and Conditions

OR
Please enter a valide email address

Already a GINX member? Sign in

CHOOSE YOUR USERNAME
›

Your username is how other community members will see you. Ever dreamt of being called JohnWick ? Now is the time.

Back
Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War
News > Battle Royale > Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War
World

Cold War & Warzone Season 5 delayed for a day

The Season 5 update will be released 24 hours later than previously planned.
Update: The update is set to go live at 9 pm PT on the 12th of August or 5 am BST on the 13th.

Original story:

Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War and Warzone Season 5 was supposed to launch early in the morning on 12th August (CET), but the developer has just revealed that the release has been postponed for a day.

While we don't have the exact reason revealed for this 1-day delay, the official Call of Duty Twitter account says that they want to give players "an extra day to unlock tier 100."

Of course, this sounds like a tongue-in-cheek way to say that they are probably having some technical or other unforeseen issues, but something is definitely going on that we are not aware of.

Even a blog post about the battle pass content, which usually appears a few days before a new season starts, hasn't been posted yet, which further indicates that something is not as it should be.

This is the first time since Modern Warfare and Warzone Season 4 that the next Call of Duty season is being postponed. Back then, the reason was to show support for #BlackLivesMatter protests, and the season was delayed for a week, but this time around it will (hopefully) be only for a day.

Cold War & Warzone Season 5 gets delayed for a day
Season 5 is releasing amidst the sexual assault lawsuit against Activision Blizzard. (Picture: Activision)

It should be noted that this is all happening amidst the Activision Blizzard workplace discrimination lawsuit, which has led to one of the biggest crises in Blizzard's history, with hundreds of Activision Blizzard employees demanding better working conditions and "a company-wide diversity, equity, and inclusion."

While we can not be sure if this postponement is in any way related to the current situation within Activision Blizzard, the general state of Warzone is also something that could be considered to be a factor in this delay.

Cold War & Warzone Season 5 gets delayed for a day
NICKMERCS, the biggest Warzone streamer, is currently playing only Apex Legends. (Picture: NICKMERCS)

Warzone's biggest streamers such as TimtheTatman and NICKMERCS have quit playing Warzone a few weeks ago over the rampant cheating problem that is plaguing the game, and even popular Warzone YouTuber JGOD thinks that the game deserves to die if the current state doesn't change. Players are demanding a proper anti-cheat solution, and yet it seems that nothing is happening in that regard.

Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War and Warzone Season 5 is now releasing on Friday, 13th August, at 6 am CET / 5 am BST / 12 am ET,  or Thursday, 12th August, 9 pm PT.

Don't forget to check out our dedicated Call of Duty Warzone section for news, leaks, guides, weapon tier lists, loadouts, and more.