Fire Emblem
Guides & Tutorial > Strategy Games > Fire Emblem

All Fire Emblem Engage Unit Types, Explained

Here are all the available unit types in Fire Emblem Engage.
All Fire Emblem Engage Unit Types, Explained

There is a lot of variety in Fire Emblem Engage. From selecting the several units that will make up your army, equipping them with gear, and choosing their class, personalizing your Fire Emblem Engage account is incredibly easy and rewarding. Unit types are yet another way to classify the many characters in the game, aside from their class and personality. Unit types encompass a ton of unit classes, and each type has its own benefits. 

It is important to know the differences between unit types and what classes fall into each unit type in order to be best prepared when facing an enemy army. That's where we come in! This article will cover all unit types in Fire Emblem Engage and what benefits they have.

All Unit Types In Fire Emblem Engage

Fire Emblem Engage
There are 8 different Unit Types in Fire Emblem Engage. (Picture: Nintendo)

There are eight total Unit Types in Fire Emblem Engage. Each can be classified by its unique benefits, stats, and weaponry. Some Unit Types, such as Dragon Units, are only comprised of the player character, Alear. However, other Unit Types, such as Cavalry Units, have some of the most classes in the entire game. So, without further ado, here are all Unit Types in Fire Emblem Engage that you can play as or against.

  • Dragon Units: Gain additional effects from Engage Skills and Engage Attacks. 
    • Dragon Child
    • Diving Dragon
  • Cavalry Units: Have the highest mobility.
    • Noble
    • Avenir
    • Sentinel
    • Royal Knight
    • Bow Knight
    • Mage Knight
    • Great Knight
    • Paladin
    • Wolf Knight
    • Sword Cavalier
    • Lance Cavalier
    • Axe Cavalier
  • Mystical Units: Ignore terrain bonuses to a foe's avoid rate when attacking with magic.
    • Noble
    • Vidame
    • Mage
    • Sage
    • High Priest
  • Qi Adept Units: Can use Chain Guard to protect allies.
    • Martial Monk
    • Martial Master
    • Dancer
  • Backup Units: Can add Chain Attacks.
    • Lord
    • Sentinel
    • Sword Fighter
    • Swordmaster
    • Hero
    • Lance Fighter
    • Axe Fighter
    • Halberdier
    • Berserker
    • Warrior
Fire Emblem Engage
Different Unit Types receive different benefits in battle. (Picture: Nintendo)
  • Armored Units: Do not break when attacked with a weapon that has advantage. 
    • Sword Armor
    • Axe Armor
    • Lance Armor
    • General
  • Flying Units: Ignore terrain effects and can pass through squares inaccessible to ground units.
    • Wing Tamer
    • Sword Flier
    • Lance Flier
    • Axe Flier
    • Griffin Knight
    • Wyvern Knight
  • Covert Units: Gain twice the usual bonuses to avoid rate from terrain effects. 
    • Lord
    • Tireur d’elite
    • Archer
    • Sniper
    • Thief

And that's all Unit Types in Fire Emblem Engage listed. Players will want to make sure their army is comprised of units from at least one of each type in order to make full use of all the unique effects. 

Fire Emblem Engage Guides

Fire Emblem Engage Tier list | How To Farm Money Fast In Fire Emblem Engage | Fire Emblem Engage Stats Explained | Best Early Game Inheritable Skills In Fire Emblem Engage | Best Gifts For Each Character

How To Change Difficulty Level | How To Obtain The Silver CardHow To Change Unit Classes | How To Get Iron, Silver, & Steel | How To Get Relay Tickets | How To Get Second Seals | How To Get Master Seals | How To Marry Someone In Fire Emblem Engage | How To Get Levin Sword, Stats & Upgrades | What Is The Somniel In Fire Emblem Engage How Long To Beat Fire Emblem Engage? | How To Unlock amiibo Gazebo In Fire Emblem Engage

Fire Emblem Engage Expansion Pass – Release Dates, Waves, Content & More