GINX TV > News > World of Warcraft

WoW Arena World Championship and Mythic Dungeon International format announced for 2021

Blizzard has revealed details of their 2021 esports plans for World of Warcraft, including changes to the Arena World Championship format.
WoW Arena World Championship and Mythic Dungeon International format announced for 2021

World of Warcraft esports is set to undergo some format changes in 2021 across the Arena World Championship and Mythic Dungeon International.

For the Arena World Championship (AWC), there’ll be two seasons of PvP World of Warcraft which will culminate in the AWC: Shadowlands 2021 Grand Finals in the autumn. 

Players in Europe and North America can sign up for Season 1 open cups now on GameBattles, where players will compete for points and a $10,000 prize pool per cup. The top eight teams with the most points after four cups will qualify for the Circuit stage. 

The Circuit consists of a four-week round robin and total prize pool of $160,000. The top four teams from each region in this stage will advance to the Season 1 Finals, and their chance to win a share of the $200,000 prize pool. 

The AWC 2021 format (Picture: Blizzard) 

After the Season 1 champions have been decided, the top six regional teams from the Season 1 Circuit will automatically qualify to the Season 2 Circuit. The remaining spots will be decided by a Relegation Cup, consisting of the two bottom two teams from the North American and European Season 1 Circuit, along with other teams hoping to rise the ranks. 

The Season 2 Circuit will pan out the same as Season 1, although the four teams that advance to the finals will be competing for an increased prize pool of $300,000 and the title of AWC: Shadowlands Grand Finals Champions. 

For the Mythic Dungeon International, Blizzard is separating China into its own regional program while the rest of the world will compete in a global event spanning two seasons. 

Each season will consist of four cups. Teams can register for these through Time Trials, where the top eight teams globally each week will advance to an MDI cup. After four cups, the teams with the most points will qualify for the Global Finals, consisting of the top 6 six teams from the global program and two more from the dedicated China MDI season. 

The MDI 2021 format (Picture: Blizzard) 

These eight teams will battle it out for the title of the MDI Global Champion and the lion’s share of the $300,000 prize pool. You can sign up for the first MDI season now on GameBattles, which is set to start on 14th January 2021. 

Blizzard is also promising two one-off tournament events designed around providing “unique new looks” on competitive dungeon running in Shadowlands, with more information expected over the coming months. 

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands is the eighth expansion pack to Blizzard’s huge MMORPG which released in October this year, bringing a wealth of a new dungeons. 

You can register for the Arena World Championship and Mythic Dungeon International 2021 seasons on GameBattles now. 


Check out our video below, where we dive deep into the lore of the Dragon Aspects in World of Warcraft, discussing all the leaders, their history, and some family drama!

For more World of Warcraft news, be sure to check out our dedicated section or some of our WoW Guides & Tutorials below:

Dragonflight Guides - Primal Storms Event| Content Roadmap| Play On Steam Deck| Raid Schedule| Dracthyr Evoker Class| Dragon Isles Zones| Max Level & Progression Path| Crafting Orders| Dragonriding| Editions & Bonuses|Dracthyr Evoker|Twitch Drops & Rewards|Maintenance Schedule US & EU|Check Server Status|Performance & Stuttering Fix|DPS Tier List|Mythic+ Affix Rotation Season 1|Reset Talents | Transfer Aborted & World Down Issues | Tangled Dreamweaver Mount | Stuck on Loading Screen Error Fix | Vault of the Incarnates Loot | Wrathion or Sabellian?

Dragonflight Tier Lists - Best DPS Class & Build | Best Healer Class & Build | Best Tank Class & Build

Dungeon Guides - Nokhud Offensive | Neltharus | The Azure Vault | Brackenhide Hollow | Ruby Life Pools

WotLK Classic Guides - Best Death Knight Builds| Retribution Paladin PVE| Herbalism Leveling| PvE Beast Mastery Hunter DPS| Shadows of Doom| Cold Weather Flying| Fire Mage PvE| Flying Carpet 

Holiday Events - Hallow's End| Feast of Winter Veil  

Featured image courtesy of Blizzard.