World of Warcraft
News > MMO > World of Warcraft

All new zones in WoW Dragonflight Dragon Isles

Take your first look at all the new zones of the Dragon Isles area in the World of Warcraft: Dragonflight expansion.
All new zones in WoW Dragonflight Dragon Isles
With the reveal of World of Warcraft (WoW)'s upcoming expansion, entitled Dragonflight, we learned about a brand-new area that heroes of Azeroth can explore and level up in. It is called Dragon Isles, which was once the centre of the dragons' kingdom when the world was still young. In the WoW: Dragonflight expansion, Dragon Isles will feature five new zones.

If you are wondering what Dragon Isles and its zones look like, then we've got you covered with a first look at all the new zones, and what to expect.

All Dragon Isles zones in WoW: Dragonflight

wow dragonflight expansion new zones dragon isles all details gameplay screenshots images
The new zones in the WoW: Dragonflight expansion expresses the primal forces of Azeroth. (Picture: Blizzard)

Previously hidden from the sight of mortals, the Dragon Isles will open up to heroes of Azeroth in the WoW: Dragonflight expansion. 

Blizzard describes Dragon Isles as: "The dragonflights of Azeroth have returned, called upon to defend their ancestral home, the Dragon Isles. Surging with elemental magic and the life energies of Azeroth, the Isles are awakening once more, and it's up to you to explore their primordial wonder and discover long-forgotten secrets."

Each zone in WoW: Dragonflight expresses the primal forces of the world, with unique themes and colours.

There will be a total of five zones in Dragon Isles. Four of these zones are levelling areas, while the fifth is a unique zone for the Dracthyr Evoker class/race combo, starting on Dragon Isles.

To get to Dragon Isles, players will take a boat from either Stormwind or Ogrimar (depending on your faction) and start off in the Waking Shores. Below, you can check out all the zones in Dragon Isles for the WoW: Dragonflight expansion, and their official descriptions plus videos as per the deep dive from Blizzard.

Dragon Isles Waking Shores zone:

wow dragonflight expansion new zones dragon isles all details gameplay screenshots images
Heroes will first progress through the Waking Shores zone. (Picture: Blizzard)

Here, you’ll learn more about the red dragonflight, led by Queen Alexstrasza, the Lifebinder. They have a mandate to nurture all life and it’s a duty they take seriously, but it’s not without its challenges, especially when it means finding ways to preserve the lives of their enemies - the Djaradin - while still preventing those same enemies from adversely affecting the ecology of the land. These half-giants wield the power of magma and while the Dragon Isles slumbered, so did they, but like the land, they have also awakened and are primed to create chaos anew.

It is also the ancestral home of the black dragonflight, which has fallen on tough times since Deathwing’s descent. Wrathion is joining Azeroth’s heroes as he comes to terms with the state of the dragonflight, which is in a diminished state.

Next up, players will travel to Ohn'ahran Plains to continue their journey to level 70.

Dragon Isles Ohn'ahran Plains zone:

wow dragonflight expansion new zones dragon isles all details gameplay screenshots images
Following the Waking Shores, players will continue to level up in the Ohn'ahran Plains zone. (Picture: Blizzard)

The area is named for the wild god of the wind, Ohn’ahra, who has appeared before as a large spirit eagle who helped guide the centaurs to the Dragon Isles many years before. She blessed them and took their caravan across to the isles and showed them the plains where they could make their new home.

The centaur encountered the green dragonflight here and would fight for dominance only to find that neither they nor the green dragonflight was stronger than the other. And so, they made peace with each other. The green dragonflight made their homes in the groves while the centaur took over the plains. But, after thousands of years, the centaur have advanced in their culture and players will have the opportunity to explore and learn more about them.

These centaur originated as one strong clan led by the mighty Maruuk and Teera who helped found their new life in the Ohn’ahran Plains all those years ago, and so you will need to learn their rules and traditions if you want to earn their trust and cross the plains. As the first outsiders to visit in generations, it will take some doing. Your first encounter will have you coming to their aid to take down one of the many protodragons that is harassing them.

Next up is the Azure Span zone, one of the biggest areas in World of Warcraft to date.

Dragon Isles Azure Span zone:

It is inspired by one of our favourite zones in Wrath of the Lich King, Grizzly Hills, along with the California Bay area with the coastal fogs and redwoods, though there’s more than just redwoods to be found in the zone.

As players progress through the zone, they’ll eventually come upon a wide-open tundra alight with golds and reds until you reach the next level of elevation where you’ll get to see the snow. The majority of the zone is covered in snow and ice with giant frozen waterfalls, ice rivers, and more.

wow dragonflight expansion new zones dragon isles all details gameplay screenshots images
Azure Span is one of the biggest zones in World of Warcraft to date, releasing with the Dragonflight expansion. (Picture: Blizzard)

It’s here you’ll encounter the gnolls who have made the forests of the Azure Span their home and beyond that in the wide-open tundra, the tuskarr. We’ve met them before in Wrath of the Lich King and here we’ve expanded upon this beloved group with male, female, and adorable child tuskarr.

We’ll aid the tuskarr alongside the blue dragonflight. We’ll follow the story of Kalecgos as he ventures into Sindragosa’s archives. It’s a giant zone and there are a lot more surprises that we’ll have in store before you move on into the fourth zone, Thaldraszus.

Dragon Isles Thaldraszus zone:

wow dragonflight expansion new zones dragon isles all details gameplay screenshots images
The WoW: Dragonflight zone called Thaldraszus is home to the expansion's main city hub. (Picture: Blizzard)

"Thaldraszus offers something more pristine with beautifully intact buildings in the seat of power for all five of the dragonflights and home of the dragons. Vertical lofty mountains and great cave systems (with maybe a small dragon hoard or two to be found along the way) create a compelling new land to explore.

It’s also here that the bronze dragonflight has their own area carved out. Their power over time lends itself to a variety of gameplay options and adventures for players to undertake.

Players will also reach the main city hub of the expansion here - Valdrakken. This city is the culmination of all the dragon’s efforts and provides several vignettes to enjoy from the blue dragonflight’s public library to the red and green dragonflights own separate gardens.

At the time of writing, the fifth zone in WoW: Dragonflight's Dragon Isles area has not been revealed just yet. Keep in mind that this is where Dracthyr Evokers will level up.

So there you have it, all the zones in Dragon Isles that players will be able to explore and level up in, practice Dragonriding and much more. 

In case you missed it, check out the full expansion reveal for World of Warcraft: Dragonflight below, including a cinematic trailer, an overview of Dragonflight, details on the new class/race combo, UI changes, Talent changes and much more below. 


Don't forget to check out our dedicated World of Warcraft section, filled with guides, news, leaks, features and more.

Featured image courtesy of Blizzard.