These Are The Countries Playing At Overwatch's World Cup

These Are The Countries Playing At Overwatch's World Cup
As you may have heard, Blizzard is hosting an Overwatch World Cup at this year's BlizzCon, eschewing traditional competition for something a little more interesting. Rather than have the world's best professional teams compete, instead the various countries of the world are uniting to have their best Overwatch players - many of whom are already playing for a professional team - compete for world glory. There are no cash prizes for the tournament, but Blizzard is offering compensation and travel expenses for those that are attending. The initial stages have already happened and now the final 16 teams that are competing as part of the tournament have been announced: Americas:
  • USA
  • Canada
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Sweden
  • Germany
  • France
  • Finland
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • China
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Australia/New Zealand

These 16 teams will be competing in early November to find out which country is the best Overwatch player. The rosters may well include some professionals, but for some - who were voted for by fans of the game - it will be the first time competing on such a significant stage. Blizzard has confirmed that the proceedings will begin with a round-robin group stage before heading into a single-elimination tournament, though the full schedule and group seeds have yet to be announced.