Welcome back!

Sign in or create an account to enjoy GINX perks, enter competitions and access exclusive features.

GINX TV > News > Call of Duty

COD Vanguard Prestige system: How it works and preseason rewards

Everything you need to know about Call of Duty: Vanguard's Prestige system, from how it all works to the rewards players can get via the preseason.
COD Vanguard Prestige system: How it works and preseason rewards

Despite some fans calling for the return of the original Prestige system before the release of Call of Duty: Vanguard, the developers have stuck to their guns with the new system and rewards on release. The COD Vanguard prestige system allows players to keep on levelling for some great rewards and unique bragging rights throughout the preseason, and beyond.

Our guide to COD Vanguard's Prestige system explains how it all works, and the rewards players can get for reaching the maximum prestige level during the preseason, which runs until 2nd December 2021.

How does Prestige work in COD Vanguard?

First off, Player XP in COD Vanguard can be gained by doing just about anything, from playing multiplayer matches to zombies, and diving into Warzone.

At first, players need to get from Rank 1 (Private) to Rank 55 (Commander), unlocking a tonne of weapons, perks, killstreaks and more along the way. Then, it's time for the Prestige System to kick in.

COD Vanguard prestige system how it works preseason rewards ranks
Unlock unique Operators as you progress through the Military Ranks. (Picture: Activision)

After completing all the Military Ranks in COD Vanguard, players will enter the Prestige Ranks. This is a Season Level system akin to that of Black Ops Cold War and Warzone.

At this point, players will start at Season Level 1 for Prestige 1, but there's a lot more to grind for.

It is important to note at this point that all unlocks and gunsmith loadout items will be kept.

COD Vanguard preseason Prestige rewards

Since COD Vanguard's launch, we've been in the preseason. Season 1 officially kicks off with the Warzone Pacific integration on 2nd December.

COD Vanguard prestige system how it works preseason rewards ranks
Hitting Prestige 2 in COD Vanguard should take dozens of hours. (Picture: Activision)

During the preseason of COD Vanguard, there will be three Prestiges for players to grind out, namely:

  • Prestige 1 (Season Level 1)
  • Prestige 2 (Season Level 50)
  • Prestige 3 (Season Level 100)

For reaching Prestige 1, players will receive a Battle Pass tier skip as well as an Emblem. Making it to Prestige 2 will provide players with a weapon blueprint, another Prestige emblem, and a Battle Pass tier skip.

Lastly, making it all the way to Prestige 3 in COD Vanguard's preseason will reward players with another Prestige Emblem and a Battle Pass tier skip. Those who make it to the maximum Prestige rank per season will also receive something to brag about, an account title namely "Prestige Master".

COD Vanguard prestige system how it works preseason rewards ranks
Reach Season Level 100 to achieve Prestige 3 and get an exclusive title. (Picture: Activision)

When Season 1 officially begins in December, your Season Level will reset, but you will keep all your unlocks. The progress will resume from the highest Prestige you've achieved during the preseason. 

Every new season will offer four additional Prestiges across the first 200 Season Levels. There's also a new Weapon Blueprint at Season Level 50 each season.

So there you have it, an explanation of how COD Vanguard's Prestige system works, and the rewards players are able to grind for during the preseason. 


For more Call of Duty content, be sure to visit our dedicated section filled to the brim with gun guides, news, leaks and much more.

Featured image courtesy of Activision.

For more Call of Duty news, be sure to check out our dedicated section or some of our MW2 Guides & Tutorials below:

Modern Warfare 2 Guides - Jack Links Skin Unlock All Operators Check Server Status Get Twitch Drops Post-Credit Scene Explained Unlock Gold Camo Get Burger Town Operator MGB Nuke Unlock Every Weapon All KillstreaksSafe Code Locations | Check KD Ratio | XP Farm Trick | Chopper Gun Glitch | Weapon Tuning | Change Name Color | Hardcore Tier 1 Mode Turn Off Crossplay | Steam Deck | Raid: Atomgrad | How To Play "Support A Team" | Unlock Orion Camo | Aim Assist Settings

Modern Warfare 2 Fixes & Issues- Best NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Dev Error 6036 MW2 Missing Items Unlimited Tactical Sprint Bug Stuck On Installing Bug Display Name Not Allowed Bug | Gold Camo Not Unlocking | Voice Chat Not Working| Display FPS Counter

Best Modern Warfare 2 Loadouts -  Best Weapon Tier List | M4 Loadout PDSW 528 Loadout | TAQ-V Loadout | M4 Loadout | Fennec 45 | No Recoil M4 Loadout | SA-B 50 Loadout | Kastov-74U Loadout