Welcome back!

Sign in or create an account to enjoy GINX perks, enter competitions and access exclusive features.

GINX TV > Game Updates > Diablo 4

Diablo 4 Druid Spirit Animal System: How To Unlock, Animal Types, Buffs & More

Unleash the power of nature with our guide on how to unlock the Spirit Animal System for the Druid in Diablo 4.
Diablo 4 Druid Spirit Animal System: How To Unlock, Animal Types, Buffs & More

A fun yet powerful mechanic that you may or may not be aware of is that all the classes in Diablo 4 feature an all-new unique class-based ability that they can call on to wield powerful abilities and skills. For the Druid class, this unique class ability is called the Spirit Animal System, and if you're considering going with a Druid for your first Diablo 4 playthrough, then you'll need to know how it works. 

Luckily, that's where this guide comes in, as below we'll take you through everything you need to know about the Druid Spirit Animal System in Diablo 4, including how to unlock it, the animal types, buffs, and more. 

Update on 14 June 2023: We've updated this article with the latest info on the Druid's Spirit Animal system in Diablo 4.

How To Unlock The Druids Spirit Animal System in Diablo 4

Unlocking the Spirit Animal System as the Druid is fairly simple in Diablo 4 and only requires that you progress through the main questline. Once you reach level 15, you will automatically receive a priority quest that has you travel to Scosglen. 

Diablo 4 Druid Spirit Animal System How To Unlock
To unlock the Spirit Animal System, players need to reach level 15 and travel to Scosglen. (Picture: Blizzard)

Once here, you'll learn bout the home of the Druids and their spirit companions as you complete the Spirits of the Lost Grove quest. This will eventually lead you to find all four of the Spirit animals, the Deer, the Snake, the Eagle, and the Wolf. After which, you'll learn that to obtain their blessings, you must collect Druidic Offerings, which, luckily, drop from almost all fallen enemies around Sanctuary

Once you offer any Spirit Animal 100 Druidic Offerings, you will begin unlocking their "blessings" or buffs that they provide the Druid class. Each spirit animal has four buffs you can choose from, with each costing 100 Druidic Offerings, meaning each Spirit Animal will require 400 Druidic Offerings to unlock all the blessings available. However, you can only choose one buff from each animal, at least in the beginning. 

Diablo 4 Druid Spirit Animal System Spirit animal types and system details
Once you've unlocked the Spirit Animals, you can offer boons to them in exchange for blessings in the form of buffs. (Picture: Blizzard)

Once you unlock all 4 blessings from any of the spirit animals, you will gain the ability to choose an extra blessing from said animal, giving you five in total, including the single buff gained from each of the other animals. This means you can play around with your build, choosing two from the Eagle when facing specific challenges and changing it later to the Wolf when things get more tricky, or your play style evolves. It's a fairly simple system that gives you the flexibility to choose buffs based on your playstyle and where you're in the game, allowing you can mix and match as you see fit. 

Diablo 4 Druid Spirit Animals Types and Buffs

Now that we know how to unlock the spirit animal system and how it works for the Druid in Diablo 4, let's take a look at each of the spirit animals in detail and see which blessings/buffs they grant the player. As mentioned before, these might change once the game is released in full, but we will update this listing accordingly to reflect the most accurate information possible.

Diablo 4 Druid Spirit Animal System Buffs and specifics
There are various buffs that each of the four Spirit Animals can give you, so try them all out to create the best build for the Druid. (Picture: Blizzard)

Deer Spirit Animal

  • Prickleskin - Gain # Thorns.
  • Gift of the Stag - Gain +10 Maximum Spirit.
  • Wariness - Take 10% reduced damage from Elites.
  • Advantageous Beast - Reduce the duration of Control Impairing Effects by 15%.

Eagle Spirit Animal

  • Scyth Talons - Gain +5% increased Critical Strike Chance.
  • Iron Feather - Gain x10% Maximum Life.
  • Swooping Attacks - Gain +10% Attack Speed.
  • Avian Wrath - Gain x30% Critical Strike Damage.

Snake Spirit Animal

  • Obsidian Slam - Every #th kill will cause your next Earth Skill to Overpower.
  • Overload - Lucky Hit: Dealing Lightning damage has up to a 20% chance to cause the target to emit a static discharge, dealing 60% Lightning damage to surrounding enemies.
  • Masochistic - Critical Strikes with Shapeshifting Skills Heal You for 3% Maximum Life.
  • Calm Before the Storm - Lucky Hit: Nature Magic Skills have up to a 15% chance to reduce the Cooldown of your Ultimate Skill by 2 seconds.

Wolf Spirit Animal

  • Packleader - Lucky Hit: Critical Strikes have up to a 20% chance to reset the Cooldowns of your Companion Skills.
  • Energize - Lucky Hit: Dealing damage has up to a 15% chance to restore 10 spirits.
  • Bolster - Fortify for 10% of your Maximum Life when you use a Defensive Skill.
  • Calamity - Extend the duration of Ultimate Skills by 25%.

And there you have it, everything you need to know to unlock, use and master the Spirit Animal System employed by the Druid class in Diablo 4. Be sure to check back here soon, as we will update this listing with more information as anything changes regarding the Druid class's unique skill, and for more on the Druid, check out our best Druid Build guide for Diablo 4

For more Diablo 4, be sure to check out our dedicated section or some of our Guides & Tutorials just below:

Diablo 4 Season 2 Guides
Class Builds & Tier Lists


Tech Guides & Fixes
World, Maps & Locations
Diablo 4 Items & Slots
Legendary Aspects
Gameplay Systems
The Story, Lore & Characters
Diablo 4 Season Guides

Our section keeps growing, so check for new guides daily! Don't forget to pick up one of the Diablo 4 Editions and join the fight to save Sanctuary soon.